Alison Riske lost to Maria Sharapova in the third round at Wimbledon Saturday 6-3, 6-0, but at least she scored a victory with a great tweet she sent shortly after her defeat.
David Beckham was in the Queen’s box to watch the match on Centre Court at the All England Club, and that did not go unnoticed by Riske, who tweeted the following:
David Beckham watched me lose to Sharapova on Center Court at Wimbledon. Id say that is half winning…
— Alison Riske (@Riske4rewards) June 28, 2014
No doubt about it, Riske. At least her head is in the right place.
- Filed Under:
A goal scored by Hulk in the 54th minute of Brazil’s Round of 16 World Cup match with Chile was disallowed Saturday because of a handball call. The goal would have made it 2-1 Brazil, but the game remain tied at 1 after the call was made.
What do you think? Was the right call made?
Here’s another look at it:
Sure looked like a handball to me.
GIFs via @_MarcusD_
If you’re ever thinking about changing up your current hairstyle, may I suggest a move to the Arturo Vidal?
The Chilean midfielder’s hair was all the rage at the World Cup, and it’s easy to see why. It’s symmetrical, it’s Mohawky, and there are several layers to it. What’s not to love?
Plus, how can you beat the way it all comes together in the back?
That’s awesome. Too bad it looks so boring from the front.
Even kids are getting in on the fun.
Descansando en casa y esperando volver a entrenar pronto!!! pic.twitter.com/YKEPQ5moHd
— Arturo Vidal (@kingarturo23) May 9, 2014
Do you think the barber would understand if I sat down in the chair and said give me the Arturo Vidal? If so, then that’s a keeper.
After singling and stealing second in the bottom of the 10th, Harrison was caught in a rundown after Grigor Polanco grounded into a fielder’s choice. The guy should have been out about five times, but he tumbled, rolled and hustled his way safely into third. And he was in the rundown long enough to allow Polanco to get to second.
Despite having runners on second and third with nobody out and then bases loaded with one out, the Pirates were unable to score. They were able to win it, though, an inning later when Harrison hit a walk-off double.
Not to ruin some truly fantastic Benny The Jet Rodriguez type maneuvers, but Harrison should have been called out for running out of the baseline to avoid the tag in that pickle.
Via the MLB rules:
Any runner is out when —
(a) (1) He runs more than three feet away from his baseline to avoid being tagged unless his action is to avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball. A runners baseline is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base he is attempting to reach safely
Below is video of Harrison’s walk-off double:
- Josh Harrison
It’s a good thing that Hank Baskett no longer plays in the NFL, because that dude would just be totally ruined if this rumor came out while he were playing.
According to both Radar Online and The National Enquirer, Baskett cheated on wife Kendra Wilkinson with a transsexual. If that weren’t enough, Wilkinson was eight months pregnant at the time with the couple’s baby daughter, Alijah.
“Hank first met up with the woman around April 22 in Sherman Oaks, California,” an insider reveals. “He called her twice before they met in person. He said he’d seen her YouTube videos online, and he couldn’t believe that her photos were real.”
Baskett supposedly used a fake name for their first encounter, which took place at her home. And here’s where it gets really graphic.
During their first romp, “They mutually masturbated her and he touched her breasts and penis,” the source claims. “The entire encounter lasted probably about 15, 20 minutes.”
Baskett supposedly continued to talk with the woman and began worrying about the story getting out.
“He promised he would take care of her financially and even left her $2,000 in a coffee cup at her house. He promised her $5,000 to keep her mouth shut, and even threatened to kill himself if the story got out!” a source told Radar Online/The National Enquirer.
This report comes just weeks after Baskett was seen leaving the family’s home and checking into a motel. As of last weekend, he supposedly had moved back home to the couple’s Calabasas mansion.
The transsexual woman in question is a model named Ava London. She claims she was harassed by the media after the story got out. She also accused a media outlet of lying when they said they interviewed her.
Hank and Kendra, a former Playboy Playmate, were married in 2009. Hank caught 77 passes during his NFL career from 2006-2010. He and Kendra have had a reality TV show since 2009.
Uruguay’s Luis Suarez resorted to a tactic he’s previously used when he bit Italy defender Giorgio Chiellini on the shoulder. While punishment was sure to be handed down, the severity was what everyone was anxiously awaiting.
When the announcement was made, FIFA came down with a heavy hand.
While reactions have been varied, one in particular stands out. Chiellini posted on his website a few words on the incident and his feelings toward Suarez.
“Now inside me there’s no feelings of joy, revenge or anger against Suarez for an incident that happened on the pitch and that’s done. There only remain the anger and the disappointment about the match.
At the moment my only thought is for Luis and his family, because they will face a very difficult period.
I have always considered unequivocal the disciplinary interventions by the competent bodies, but at the same time I believe that the proposed formula is excessive. I sincerely hope that he will be allowed, at least, to stay close to his team mates during the games because such a ban is really alienating for a player.”
Not only does Suarez’s suspension affect games with the national team, but the four-month portion causes it to run into the early portion of the English Premier League schedule, meaning he will be absent from Liverpool’s first nine matches of next season.
Documented history of similar behavior or not, there are more than a few who feel the hand Suarez was dealt is too harsh. And now we can add the victim of his most recent act to the list.
Trout took former teammate Jason Vargas deep in the first inning of Friday’s game on a 90-mph 3-1 fastball on the outer portion of the plate. Trout just blasted it to deep center field where it cleared the seats and landed to the deep part of the pool leading to the water fall.
The Royals estimated the homer at 445 feet, according to the LA Times’ Bill Shaikin, but ESPN Stats & Info, which is a leader in home run tracking, estimated it at 489 feet.
Royals had it at 445. RT @ESPNStatsInfo Mike Trout's 489-foot HR is the longest by an AL player since ESPN began tracking home runs (2006).
— Bill Shaikin (@BillShaikin) June 28, 2014
— ESPN Stats & Info (@ESPNStatsInfo) June 28, 2014
The 489-foot estimate gives Trout team and stadium records. He also is in plenty more elite company. Here are the details via ESPN Stats & Info:
The booming homer was the longest in Kansas City since Travis Hafner hit one 481 feet on April 15, 2012, and the longest ever in the history of the Angels franchise.
It was also the longest by an American League player since ESPN began tracking home runs, in 2006. The second-longest was a 488-foot shot by Edwin Encarnacion on September 1, 2012.
Trout’s homer was the longest by an Angels player since Vladimir Guerrero hit one 484 feet on July 30, 2006, and the longest in the majors since Giancarlo Stanton’s 494-footer on August 17, 2012.
Look at where the splash was for this one:
Like Mark Gubicza said, that was Bo Jackson territory.
- Mike Trout
Young has been hosting his basketball camp at Sierra Canyon High School in Chatsworth all week and posted the video seen above to his Instagram account Friday. Though the free agent guard obviously wasn’t playing his best defense, he quickly buckled down after the kid went behind his back, showing that he meant business. Young recovered quickly and stuck with the young camper, but he got beat the same way so many do — the Dream Shake got him!
Sick moves by that camper! Somebody better offer him a scholarship now!
- Nick Young
Novak Djokovic was worried he had dislocated his shoulder after landing on it while diving for a ball during his third round match at Wimbledon Friday, but luckily he avoided any serious injury.
Djokovic was up two sets and leading 3-2 in the third set when he was wrong-footed by Gilles Simon and slipped trying to reverse direction while going for the ball. Instead of letting the ball go for a winner, Djokovic tried to dive for it to make the save. He ended up hurting his left shoulder in the process, but everything turned out to be fine.
Djokovic recovered to win the third 6-4 and won the match in straight sets. He even was joking in his post-match news conference.
“Talked with Boris and we obviously need to work on my diving volleys and learning how to fall down,” Djokovic joked of his coach who was famous for diving for volleys at Wimbledon. “I’m not very skillful in that, so I tried to land on my left arm, so I basically had a strong impact on the shoulder. When I stood up, I felt that clay court pop or whatever you call it. I feared that it might be a dislocated shoulder or something like that.
“But no damage significant that can cause big problems. I just came from the doctor’s office and ultrasound, and it’s all looking good.”
That’s great news for Nole. The not so good news is that he has a challenge in the fourth round in the form of Jo-Wilfried Tsonga. That guy is always dangerous.
Video of the play is below:
- Filed Under:
- Novak Djokovic
Boston Red Sox catcher A.J. Pierzynski was ejected from one of the team’s games earlier this month after using a great zinger on home plate umpire Quinn Wolcott.
MLB.com’s Anthony Castrovince has a good story about ejections being on the rise this season despite instant replay being added to the game. In his story, he related the Pierzynski anecdote.
Pierzynski was tossed from Boston’s 7-4 loss to the Cleveland Indians on June 4 because he insulted Wolcott after Brandon Workman walked a batter in the sixth inning.
“Give me a new ball,” Pierzynski said to Wolcott after Asdrubal Cabrera had drawn a walk. “One you can see.”
Sheesh, is that all it takes? Umpires don’t have much of a sense of humor anymore these days. Well, I guess it’s hard to blame them for not laughing if they’re being insulted. And only A.J. Pierzynski would have the stones to say something like that.
The only shame in the situation is that unlike the NFL, umpires don’t have to explain the infraction committed. I would have loved to hear that one. Penalty — unsportsmanlike conduct on the catcher — he insulted the umpire. He has been ejected.
Tip via David B.
- Filed Under: