Quantcast

John Sterling botches Alex Rodriguez home run call (Audio)

John-SterlingNew York Yankees broadcaster John Sterling scripts his home run calls. Anyone who has listened to games that are broadcast on WFAN could tell you that. For that reason, his screw-ups have a tendency to become magnified. Sterling gave us a perfect example of that on Tuesday night when he mistakenly thought that Alex Rodriguez had blasted a home run.

The problem was Toronto Blue Jays outfielder Rajai Davis turned the fly ball into a routine out near the wall.

“That ball is high, it is far, it is gone …,” Sterling proclaimed enthusiastically, via The Big Lead. “It hit and kicked over. (pause) I’m sorry, I’m sorry I got that all wrong. I got that all wrong. At the wall Davis made the catch, honestly I didn’t think he made it. I thought he gave up on the ball that’s why I thought it was out.”

Ouch. It was so bad that Sterling didn’t even know how to recover and basically just stopped talking in the middle of his explanation. Considering he has made some epic botched home run calls in the past, you would think Sterling would be used to it. Apparently not.

Yankees catcher Chris Stewart strikes out after two strikes (Video)

Chris-Stewart-strike-twoNew York Yankees catcher Chris Stewart accomplished an amazing feat during a 6-5 win over the Baltimore Orioles on Thursday night. No, not that kind of amazing. This was the kind of amazing that Stewart will want to forget. As in, striking out on a 1-1 pitch amazing.

In the top of the second inning, Stewart swung and missed at a 1-1 pitch and walked back to the dugout. He never returned. He later told MLB.com’s Bryan Hoch that he thought home plate umpire Jim Wolf had called the first pitch a strike, which is where the confusion arose.

“[Wolf] said something the first pitch, and I thought he called it a strike,” Stewart explained. “I assumed it was 0-1, I fouled a ball off and I swung and missed at a ball. No one said anything; the umpire didn’t say anything, so I just came on back to the dugout and put my stuff away.”

The incredible part was no one said anything — not the umpire, not Orioles catcher Matt Wieters, not O’s pitcher Wei-Yin Chen nor any of Stewart’s teammates. As Eye on Baseball pointed out, nothing in the MLB rulebook states that the umpire is required to call a hitter back in a situation like that, so I guess Stewart essentially forfeited the remainder of his at-bat. He later said it would have been “a nice little courtesy” if someone let him know.

“The good thing is, we ended up winning and it doesn’t mean anything,” Stewart added. “But I would’ve hit a home run if I’d stayed there.”

While we’d love to make Stewart feel better by saying “it happens,” it really doesn’t. Hitters have lost track of counts on plenty of occasions, but someone usually tips them off. Stewart wasn’t fortunate enough for that to happen.

John Elway, not Peyton Manning, threw 7 touchdowns against Ravens

Peyton Manning BroncosThe Denver Broncos blew the doors off the Baltimore Ravens to kick off the NFL season on Thursday night. A game that started out slow after a weather delay turned into a gong show, as Peyton Manning and his new offense put on a show. Or wait, was that John Elway?

A look at the box score might tell you that Manning tied an NFL record by throwing an incredible seven touchdown passes in his 2013 debut. Peyton did not turn the ball over and had his way with the defending Super Bowl champions, but The Columbus Dispatch decided to give all the credit to the most beloved quarterback in Broncos history.

It looks like the Ravens aren’t the only ones who have some work to do before they reach midseason form. Manning is hoping to give Denver fans what Elway gave them, but don’t expect to see him tuck the ball down and dive into the end zone.

For more hilarious blunders from reporters and TV anchors, click here.

H/T Wesley Lowery

Fox Carolina anchor Aaron Cheslock calls it the ‘douchebag’ golf tournament (Video)

Aaron CheslockFox Carolina anchor Aaron Cheslock had a memorable blunder this weekend while giving a sports report.

Cheslock was introducing some golf highlights from the Deutsche Bank Championship, but he understandably stumbled over “Deutsche Bank.” What’s weird is that instead of Deutsche Bank, “douchebag” came out of his mouth.

LBS writer Steve DelVecchio was in attendance for the event on Sunday, so I guess in a way it was a douchebag-filled event. Maybe there was some truth to what Cheslock said.

Definitely one of the better slips of the tongue we’ve had here in LBS history. For more memorable screw-ups, check out our archives and enjoy the fun.

H/T Clay Travis

Notre Dame drink cups feature embarrassing spelling error

Notre Dame drink cup

Notre Dame is a prestigious school with a sterling academic reputation. But even they make embarrassing mistakes every now and again.

Seen above is a photo of a drink cup being sold at Notre Dame’s season-opening game against Temple on Saturday. Yes, it has a horrible spelling mistake and calls the Fighting Irish the Figthing Irish.

Does it get much worse than that?

Lest you think that was a sole occurrence and there is no way they could sell cups with that mistake, here’s another one shared by an Instagram user:

[Read more...]

Elliott Fry is the best kicker on South Carolin

Elliott Fry Carolin jersey

One game into the college football season and we already have our first jersey mistake of the year. This one came in the season opener between North Carolina and South Carolina when Gamecocks kicker Elliott Fry’s jersey was missing a letter and said “Carolin” on the front instead of Carolina.

Fry kicked a 37-yard field goal and two extra points in the first quarter as South Carolina was getting its rout on.

Here’s another look at the mistake:

[Read more...]

Max Stassi gets first MLB hit, then tagged out not paying attention (Video)

Max-Stassi-tagged-outIn the span of just a few minutes on Tuesday night, Houston Astros catcher Max Stassi experienced one of the most memorable moments and one of the most humiliating moments of his professional baseball career.

With Houston leading 2-1 over the Texas Rangers in the top of the fifth, Stassi singled to record his first ever MLB hit. He then reached second on a throwing error by Rangers pitcher Jason Frasor, but was tagged out when he lost track of the baseball and wandered off the bag.

Basically, the Rangers pulled the hidden ball trick on Stassi without even trying. Frasor’s throw had gone off the top of shortstop Elvis Andrus’ glove and was snagged by Ian Kinsler, who was backing up the play. Stassi thought Andrus had the ball in his glove, so he was in no rush to get back to the bag when Elvis began walking toward the pitcher’s mound. But Kinsler was the one with the ball, and he walked up behind Stassi and tagged him out.

Poor guy. This is the type of stuff that can only happen to the Astros, but you hate to see it happen to a rookie after recording his first hit. Although, it’s probably best to get boneheaded plays like that out of the way now. At least he didn’t cost his team a valuable game.