Referee Terry McAulay still thinks Andy Reid coaches Philadelphia?
Reid successfully challenged the spot of a first down during his Kansas City Chiefs’ 31-7 win over the New York Giants on Sunday. The challenge reversed a first down and gave the Giants a 4th and 1. The Giants elected to punt, and they gave up an 89-yard return for a touchdown to Dexter McCluster. Obviously Reid’s challenge was a game-changer.
But the funny part about the challenge is that when McAulay explained that the first down ruling was being overturned, he said “Philadelphia will not be charged with a timeout.”
Reid is in his first season with KC after 14 in Philly, so it’s understandable why McAulay had the slip-up. It’s not like he’s the first ref to make such a mistake.
Thanks to LBS tipster David for the heads up