Notre Dame Golfer Annie Brophy Disqualified for Lying About Her Scores
Nothing like a good old collegiate golf cheating story to brighten our day. Golfweek shares with us the story of Notre Dame senior golfer Annie Brophy who turned heads by lighting up the front-nine at the NCAA Central Regional on Saturday. Brophy may be good, but she’s not good enough to shoot a legitimate 30 on the front-nine as investigators came to find out. According to Golfweek:
When members of the NCAA rules committee heard about Brophy’s five birdies and an eagle (she threw in a bogey for good measure), they went out to the 11th hole to see for themselves. Notre Dame assistant coach Kyle Lynne Veltri told them that front-nine score couldn’t possibly be accurate.
Turns out Brophy had reported inaccurate numbers to Golfstat volunteers.
The NCAA committee decided to disqualify Brophy for unsportsmanlike conduct, no surprise. I have no idea what caused Brophy to do this. Did she decide that because she’s a senior she wanted to go out with a bang? Was she hoping she could get away with it? Whatever the reason, there’s no question that Annie Brophy messed with a lot of people and wasted their time. Quite an exit for someone who will go down as one of the better golfers in the program’s history.