Quantcast

Jonathan Toews goal disallowed because of goalie interference (Video)

The Chicago Blackhawks thought they had a 2-0 lead during the second period of Game 1 of the Western Conference final against the Los Angeles Kings, but their lead was reduced after a Jonathan Toews goal was disallowed because of goalie interference.

Video of the play is seen above, and below is the prompt explanation from the league about why the goal was called off:

“At 3:22 of the second period in the Los Angeles Kings/Chicago Blackhawks game, the referee consulted video review to see if Jonathan Toews’ initial shot entered the Los Angeles net. It was determined Toews’ initial shot did not enter the net. The referee’s original call on the ice was “good goal” but a discussion between the on-ice officials resulted in a “no goal” decision because Toews made incidental contact with Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick before the puck crossed the goal line. This is not a reviewable play therefore the decision on the ice stands – no goal and no penalty.”

The Blackhawks got a goal from Duncan Keith in the second and then Toews scored on a 3-on-1 in the third to make it 3-1, so they won despite having the goal taken away.

Was taking that goal away the right call? Probably by the letter of the law, but it looks like the puck was in before Toews made contact with Quick:

Jonathan Toews goal



Around The Web

  • Harry Armstrong

    Saw the non goal. I do not know why it was even called a goal. He was inside of the blue area when he skated into the goalie.The announcers said it was incidental contact. I did not see it as accidental.He should of received a penalty for that one. Toews knew t5here was going to be contact I guess they have to make it look exciting for the playoffs, they are looking for a larger audience. They would have a larger audience but ESPN is too busy showing high school sports.

  • wreckinball

    Wow really bad call. It was called a goal and interference is not reviewable. But yet somehow it was??