Quantcast

Niklas Hjalmarsson goal waved off forcing Blackhawks to win Game 7 twice

Breaking sports news video. MLB, NFL, NBA, NHL highlights and more.

The Chicago Blackhawks were forced to win Game 7 of the Western Conference semifinals against the Detroit Red Wings twice after an official’s controversial call wiped away a goal scored by Niklas Hjalmarsson late in the game.

Hjalmarsson scored on a slap shot he blasted past Detroit goalie Jimmy Howard with 1:47 left in the game. The goal put the Blackhawks up 2-1, but it was disallowed because referee Stephen Walkom had already blown his whistle prior to Hjalmarsson’s blast. Walkom saw Kyle Quincey and Brandon Saad getting into it by the bench and called coincidental penalties on them.

According to World of Isaac on Twitter, here’s where the puck was when Walkom blew his whistle:

Niklas Hjalmarsson puck

So Walkom decided to blow his whistle and stop the action in a tie game for that? The only good news is that Brent Seabrook bailed him out by scoring the winning goal in overtime, otherwise Blackhawks fans would have been out for his head.



Around The Web

  • joel

    The roughng at the benches went on all series, especially the cheap shots on Jonathan Towes on what seemed like every shift change, and the ref decides to call something with less than two minutes left in game seven with the play out in front of him?????
    Interesting tht the non-goal and winning goal were scored by defensemen.

  • pete629

    their letting everything go until then ,steve go back to the office you don’t belong on the ice officiating, so do hockey a favor and leave

  • http://larrybrownsports.com Larry Brown

    They had the puck deep in the zone. He should have known better than to blow his whistle then.