Croatia manager critical of key penalty in World Cup final
Croatia manager Zlatko Dalic was not happy after France were awarded a critical penalty in the first half of the World Cup Final.
With the game tied at one late in the first half, Argentine referee Nestor Pitana used VAR to award a controversial handball penalty against Croatia. Pitana judged that Croatia’s Ivan Perisic intentionally handled the ball in the box, awarding the penalty that ultimately made it 2-1 to France.
— Steven Bartlett (@SteveBartlettSC) July 15, 2018
After the match, Dalic gave credit to France, but made clear that he felt the penalty award was ridiculous.
#cro coach Zlatko Dalic to @ben_rumsby on penalty given by VAR: "I never comment on refereeing but let me say one sentence: in a World Cup Final you do not give that kind of penalty. But it in no way diminishes #fra's win."
— James Olley (@JamesOlley) July 15, 2018
VAR has definitely had an impact on the World Cup. Many would argue that, rightly or wrongly, it had a huge impact on the outcome of this match as well.