LSU became the first team this year to lose a touchdown to the new celebration rule in college football. Running a fake punt against Florida towards the end of the first quarter, punter Brad Wing had a clear path to the end zone. Shortly before reaching the promised land, he held out his hands in a showboating move. It only lasted for a second, but it was enough to result in a penalty flag. Here is the play in question:
LSU settled for a field goal but continued to hammer Florida, so it likely won’t matter. The referees enforced the rule properly, so you can’t complain about them making a bad call. What you can do is argue that the rule should not be in place. That is a fair discussion. It may suck to lose a touchdown to a little showboating, but I have no problem with it. I’ve always been a big believer in sportsmanship and long felt that when you score a touchdown, you act like you’ve been there before and that you’re going to be there again.
Although in Wing’s case, you can’t really say he was ever going to score another touchdown, right?