Quantcast

David Lough makes one of the best diving catches you’ll see this season (Video)

The Baltimore Orioles dropped two of three to the Kansas City Royals this weekend, including Sunday’s game by a 9-3 final score.

david-lough-diving-catchAmong the story lines heading into the series were Royals third baseman Danny Valencia and Orioles outfielder David Lough squaring off against their former teams. The two were traded for each other back in December.

On Sunday, Lough got the start in left field and made one of the better catches you’ll see this season. Jarrod Dyson took a pitch by Josh Stinson the other way and Lough tracked it down to make a fully extended, diving catch to rob Kansas City’s center fielder of extra bases.

The Orioles brought Lough in to help improve their outfield defense. I’d say he proved capable of doing that.

Umpire Scott Barry misses call, says Mark Trumbo didn’t touch first base

Mark Trumbo Scott Barry

First base umpire Scott Barry badly missed a call in the eighth inning of Sunday’s Los Angeles Angeles-Kansas City Royals game, giving the Royals an extra out and Mark Trumbo an error.

Royals outfielder David Lough hit a routine grounder to first baseman Trumbo, who fielded it cleanly and took it to the bag for what should have been the last out of the inning. For some reason, Barry decided to call Lough safe. He said Trumbo didn’t touch the bag. Manager Mike Scioscia came out to argue the call but had no luck (he was later ejected for arguing with Marty Foster in the ninth inning).

As you can see in the screenshots above and below, the toe of Trumbo’s cleat was even bent, proving his foot touched the bag.

So how did Barry miss that call? Another screenshot below shows why.

[Read more...]