Quantcast

Henrik Stenson’s caddie Gareth Lord bought a Ferrari with his bonus money

Gareth-Lord-Henrik-StensonHenrik Stenson capped off an incredible golf season last week when he completed what is known as the “double double,” winning both the Race to Dubai and the DP World Tour Championship. The victories pushed 37-year-old Swede to right around the $20 million mark in on-course winnings, which is an incredible number. When you factor in endorsements, Stenson made much more than $20 million in 2013.

When golfers clean house, their caddies typically do as well. Most professional golfers pay their caddies somewhere between 5% and 10% of their on-course earnings. If Stenson held to that rule, his caddie Gareth Lord may have made up to $2 million in 2013.

According to the Daily Mail, Lord went out and bought himself a Ferrari after Stenson won the Race to Dubai and wrapped up the “double double.” The proud owner of one of the most prestigious sports cars in the world did, however, give Stenson all of the credit.

“He’s hardly missed a shot for six months,” Lord said.

We’re in the wrong profession. You wouldn’t be surprised to hear that any golfer on the PGA tour was rolling around in a luxury sports car, but the fact that Lord was able to afford one gives us some serious prospective. Stenson was nothing shy of dominant in 2013.

H/T Eye on Golf

Henrik Stenson breaks his driver in anger at BMW Championship (Video)

Henrik-Stenson-smashes-driverHenrik Stenson won the Deutsche Bank Championship a week ago. His success did not carry over to the BMW Championship, where Stenson finished with a final round score of 74 on Monday and 1-under for the tournament — more than 10 shots off the lead. Fortunately his weekend is over, so he will no longer be needing the driver that he smashed.

Stenson slammed his driver into the ground so hard on the 18th hole that the head came flying off. I’d like to think he knew he wouldn’t be needing it for the rest of the day, otherwise he wouldn’t have risked breaking it.

It was a frustrating weekend for the Swede, but at least he pulled off a win last week. If he didn’t break a club after quadruple-bogeying 18 to lose a first-round lead at the Masters, he probably could have done without the outburst on Monday.

Video via Devil Ball Golf

Henrik Stenson quadruple-bogeys 18 to lose first-round lead at Masters

Henrik Stenson was having a dream opening round at the Masters Thursday until blowing up on the 18th hole. Stenson, who had gone five under the first 17 holes of the tournament, double-bogeyed 18 after pulling his drive into the trees.

Stenson needed two shots to get out of the pine, then he overshot the flag and needed two shots to reach the green. From there, he missed a short putt before finally ending his misery with an eight to finish his round with a 1-under 71.

“The worst part of 18 was really over-hitting the wedge and hitting it up in the crowds behind the green and then it took me four to get down from there,” Stenson said. “The fifth shot that I played is a foot from being stiff really. Small margins, and obviously with hacking a few earlier, that just made it worse. Finishing with an 8, I don’t think I’ve ever done that.”

Stenson has a short memory; he took an 8 on the fourth hole par-3 at the Masters last year — the worst score ever recorded on that hole.

If there’s anything he can take away from the blowup, it’s that at least he made history. Stenson’s eight matched the worst score ever recorded at Augusta National’s closing hole, the seventh time it had been shot there and the first since Colombia’s Camilo Villegas did it in 2007, according to the AP. Well done, Henrik!