The umpiring crew for Game 1 of the World Series in Boston correctly overturned a terrible call made by second base umpire Dana Demuth in the first inning of the game, which actually gave the Red Sox an extra run.
The Red Sox had runners on first and second with one out and David Ortiz at the plate. Ortiz grounded a ball to the right side into the St. Louis Cardinals’ shift, and it was fielded by Matt Carpenter. Carpenter threw to second for a force out, but shortstop Pete Kozma, who was playing on the second base side of the bag because of the shift and had to go back to second, dropped the ball.
Demuth initially called Dustin Pedroia out at second on the force, which would have given the Red Sox men on the corners with two outs. Manager John Farrell came out to argue the call and say that Kozma never had the ball.
The entire umpiring crew met and decided to change the call and put Pedroia back at second. Thanks to the properly overturned call, three runs were able to score on Mike Napoli’s bases-clearing double instead of two.
GIF via @worldofisaac