Quantcast

Umpire Scott Barry misses call, says Mark Trumbo didn’t touch first base

Mark Trumbo Scott Barry

First base umpire Scott Barry badly missed a call in the eighth inning of Sunday’s Los Angeles Angeles-Kansas City Royals game, giving the Royals an extra out and Mark Trumbo an error.

Royals outfielder David Lough hit a routine grounder to first baseman Trumbo, who fielded it cleanly and took it to the bag for what should have been the last out of the inning. For some reason, Barry decided to call Lough safe. He said Trumbo didn’t touch the bag. Manager Mike Scioscia came out to argue the call but had no luck (he was later ejected for arguing with Marty Foster in the ninth inning).

As you can see in the screenshots above and below, the toe of Trumbo’s cleat was even bent, proving his foot touched the bag.

So how did Barry miss that call? Another screenshot below shows why.

[Read more...]