Quantcast

Rocco Mediate shares story about Tiger Woods stiffing him on autograph

Rocco MediateRocco Mediate recently shared a story about Tiger Woods that gives us an interesting glimpse at the golf legend’s personality.

Mediate sat down with Golf Channel’s David Feherty for an interview on “Feherty” (Mondays 10:00 p.m. ET on Golf Channel) last week and said he still hasn’t had a chance to chat with Tiger about their dramatic playoff at the 2008 US Open. Woods, playing on a bad knee that would require season-ending surgery, sunk a birdie putt on the 72nd hole to tie him with Mediate, who was in the clubhouse at -1. The two played an 18-hole playoff on Monday to determine the winner. Tiger again made birdie on the last hole of the playoff round to tie Mediate. Woods then beat Mediate in a sudden-death playoff hole to win the tournament.

Battling Woods head-to-head for the entire day is Mediate’s biggest claim to fame. So when he saw Tiger the next year at the 2009 Players Championship, he was hoping his competitor could give him a nice personalized autograph.

Mediate told Feherty that he placed a manila envelope containing a pin sheet and great photo of the two of them on the course together that day. He said he included a note asking Tiger to sign the pin sheet and write a personalized message on the photo.

Mediate returned from his round at TPC and saw the envelope sitting in his locker. He was eager to read what it said. When he opened it up, he saw there was nothing written on the pin sheet, and that Tiger only signed his name on the photo without leaving a message. He was disappointed to learn that Woods ignored his request.

“Why wouldn’t he just go, ‘Roc, you suck, you got lucky for six days. I had a broken leg’ … just mess with me, and then sign my pin sheet so I could put the damn thing on the wall and say, ‘Almost got the guy that day,’” Mediate said to Feherty.

Mediate says he threw the picture away.

[Read more...]

Sergio Garcia still thinks he was the ‘victim’ of Tiger Woods’ distraction

Sergio Garcia collapseSergio Garcia refuses to let go of the Saturday incident between him and Tiger Woods.

Garcia blamed Woods for causing a distraction among fans while he was attempting to hit a shot on the second hole at The Players Championship on Saturday. Garcia said that Woods brought out his 5-wood while Garcia was getting ready to hit, leading to cheers from the fans. Tiger defended himself by saying after the round that he had been cleared to hit and that he wasn’t surprised Sergio was complaining.

Garcia choked at the end of the tournament by hitting three balls into the water over the final two holes. He finishing tied for eighth while Tiger won the tournament, even though the two were tied entering the 17th hole on Sunday.

After the tournament ended, Garcia was asked again about the incident.

“It sounds like I was the bad guy here. I was the victim,” Garcia insisted. “I don’t have any regrets of anything.”

Yes, Garcia insisted he was a “victim” for what happened on Saturday. Is there any surprise that people dislike him?

Here is a video recapping what each golfer said on Saturday about the incident:

[Read more...]

Johnny Miller questions Tiger Woods’ drop on 14

Tiger-WoodsTiger Woods was questioned for the second tournament in a row for a drop he took after hitting into the water.

Tiger went into the water on the par-4 14th hole during the final round of The Players on Sunday. He took a drop which led to some questions from NBC golf analyst Johnny Miller.

“That was really, really borderline. I couldn’t live with myself without saying that,” Miller said, via Golf Channel’s Ryan Lavner.

Miller is known for being a controversial announcer, so this sort of thing is nothing new for him. This is also nothing new for Tiger, who was facing disqualification at the Masters after taking an illegal drop on the 15th hole at Augusta during his second round.

Woods took his one-stroke penalty for hitting into the water on 14 and double-bogeyed the hole. He won the tournament at 13-under, but the drop he took on 14 has left many questions.

Woods’ options after hitting into the water were: 1) play his shot from the original location 2) play from behind the water hazard 3) play where the ball crossed over the hazard.

Did Tiger do any of the three? The PGA Tour had his back by issuing this statement:

“Without definitive evidence, the point where Woods’ ball last crossed the lateral water hazard is determined through best judgement by Woods and his fellow competitor. If that point later proves to be a wrong point (through television or other means), the player is not penalized by Rule 26-1 given the fact that a competitor would risk incurring a penalty every time he makes an honest judgment as to the point where his ball last crosses a water-hazard margin and that judgment subsequently proves incorrect (Decision 26-1/17).”

Video via The Big Lead

Tiger Woods, Sergio Garcia quibbling over incident on second hole

Sergio GarciaThe rivalry between Tiger Woods and Sergio Garcia heated up again on Saturday during the third round of The Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass when Garcia complained that Tiger caused some noise while he was hitting a shot.

Garcia was getting ready to hit his second shot on No. 2 and was at the right side of the fairway. After he swung, he looked to his left where Woods was getting ready to play his shot. Apparently the crowd started to cheer as Woods brought out his 5-wood, which Garcia thought could have been avoided.

“I wouldn’t say [Tiger Woods] didn’t see that I was ready, but you do have a feel when the other guy is gonna hit,” Garcia said after his round, via Golf Channel’s Ryan Lavner.

Tiger defended himself after the round, saying the marshal told him Garcia had already hit his shot.

“The marshal told me he already hit, so I pulled a club and was getting ready to play my shot,” Woods said, via Lavner.

Tiger also couldn’t resist getting in a little dig at the Spaniard.

“Not real surprising he’s complaining about something.”

During a rain delay, Garcia also mentioned in an interview that Woods’ actions “didn’t help very much.”

[Read more...]

Lindsey Vonn, Tiger Woods make red carpet appearance

Lindsey Vonn and Tiger Woods made their relationship official in March, but it wasn’t until this week that they made their first red carpet appearance.

The two stepped out in public for the annual Costume Institute Gala at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York on Monday night. They went to an after party at the Standard Hotel afterwards. US Weekly says Tiger got tipsy at the party and somewhat embarrassed Vonn, for whatever that’s worth. The Superficial even has pictures of Tiger appearing to look wasted.

Vonn also posted a “selfie” to her Facebook and Instagram Tuesday morning.

[Read more...]

Lindsey Vonn’s ex-husband jokes that he ratted out Tiger Woods

The tweet of the weekend definitely goes to Lindsey Vonn’s ex-husband Thomas, who joked that he was the one who called the Masters to rat out Tiger Woods for taking an improper drop on the 15th hole Friday.

Here’s what Thomas Vonn tweeted on Saturday:

Thomas VonnThomas’ tweet links to a Yahoo! Sports article that notes it was a fan watching on TV who called the Masters to report Tiger’s drop violation, which later resulted in a two-shot penalty.

Thomas and Lindsey married in 2007 and announced plans to divorce late in 2011. Before their divorce finalized in January, rumors, which were later confirmed, said Lindsey was dating Tiger Woods.

Thomas Vonn used to serve as Lindsey’s ski coach. Now he settles for zinging her and her boyfriend with awesome jokes.

Photos: Lindsey Vonn watching Tiger Woods at the Masters

Photo: Twitter/Thomas Vonn

Tiger Woods: I did not think about disqualifying myself

Tiger Woods drop

Tiger Woods admitted after shooting a 70 in the third round of the Masters Saturday that the controversy over his improper drop distracted him, but he did not consider disqualifying himself.

Woods spoke with CBS’ Bill Macatee following his third round and said it wasn’t until Saturday morning that he learned there might be an issue with the drop he took on the 15th hole Friday. Macatee asked if Tiger thought about disqualifying himself for signing an incorrect scorecard, but he said he did not.

“No, because under the rules of golf I’m abiding by the rules,” Woods answered. “They made the determination that nothing had happened yesterday. After what I had said, things changed and they called me in this morning and I got a two-shot penalty.”

Macatee asked Woods if he felt the two-shot penalty was fair, and he said yes.

“Absolutely. I made a mistake. Under the rules of golf, I took an improper drop and got the penalty.”

Woods also admitted that the controversy distracted him.

“Well, it was certainly a distraction early with the routine, but like anything it happens and you move on. I was ready to play come gametime.”

The Augusta National competition committee said disqualification wasn’t even being considered for Woods. Tiger said earlier in the day that he didn’t knowingly break a rule, which is why the committee felt a disqualification would be unfair. Woods is four shots behind co-leaders Angel Cabrera and Brandt Snedeker entering the final round.

Graphic via Deadspin