Quantcast

Leonys Martin traps ball but umpires miss call (Video)

Leonys Martin catchThe umpires for the tie-breaking game between the Texas Rangers and Tampa Bay Rays on Monday missed a call in the seventh inning that cost the Rays a run.

The Rays had runners on first and second with two outs in the top of the seventh and Delmon Young up. Young hit a ball to center field that actually landed for a hit, but Leonys Martin confused the umpires by scooping the ball.

Instant replay showed that Martin trapped the ball, but the six umpires missed it. Instead of being up 5-2, the Rays’ lead remained 4-2.

Below is a GIF that shows the trap more clearly:

[Read more...]

Umpire grabs manager by throat during argument (Video)

An American umpire working in Taiwan’s Chinese Professional Baseball League put his hand on the throat of a manager during an argument over a balk called in a game between the EDA Rhinos and Brother Elephants on Thursday.

Umpire Brian Kennedy called a balk on the Rhinos pitcher while the Rhinos were up 4-2 in the fourth inning. The call led Rhinos acting manager Chiung-Lung Huang to come out of the dugout to discuss things. That got somewhat awkward because a translator was needed to interpret the conversation between the ump and the manager.

Umpire Brian KennedyAround the 1:05 mark, Kennedy ejects Huang from the game, and the manager responds by chest-bumping Kennedy. Kennedy reacted by grabbing Huang’s throat.

The China Post says Kennedy was suspended 10 games and fined NT$50,000 for the incident. He will also be relegated to the position of reserve umpire.

Huang was suspended three games and fined NT$60,000.

Kennedy was so upset with the incident he reportedly called police during the game with the intention of pressing charges. Officers showed up and suggested Huang go to the station with them. Kennedy apparently decided not to press charges.

Huang has been the Rhinos’ acting manager. Hsu Sheng-ming, the team’s manager, died at 55 last month after suffering a heart attack.

Good to know crazy baseball fights aren’t exclusive to the US or Venezuela.

H/T The Big Lead via Deadspin

LLWS umpire has the greatest strike call known to mankind (Video)

The umpire who worked home plate in the Little League World Series game between Australia and Puerto Rico may be my favorite person on the planet right now. If you want to know how to call a strike, just ask this guy.

That type of raw enthusiasm proves that this gentleman deserves to be calling games for kids. The batter may have been terrified the first time he heard it, but I’m sure everyone grew to love the passion by the end of the game. And if the strike call wasn’t for you, take a look at the way he fired the ball back to the pitcher’s mound.

[Read more...]

Umpire Jerry Meals costs Red Sox run with missed call (Video)

The Tampa Bay Rays have been the hottest team in baseball lately, and they took first place in the AL East on Monday thanks to a blown call by umpire Jerry Meals.

Daniel Nava was called out at home for an inning-ending double play in the bottom of the eighth when he was trying to tag up and score on a fly ball to left field. Boston Red Sox third baseman Brandon Snyder drove a fly ball to left-center with one out and men on second and third, and Nava, who was pinch-running, appeared to beat Sam Fuld’s throw home. Replays showed that Nava’s foot touched the plate before catcher Jose Molina applied a tag, but Meals missed the call.

Instead of Nava being credited with the tying run, the Sox remained down 2-1 and lost by that score.

After the game, Meals saw a replay and admitted his mistake.

“What I saw was: Molina blocked the plate and Nava’s foot lifted,” Meals said, via MLB.com. “But in the replays, you could clearly see Nava’s foot got under for a split second and then lifted, so I was wrong on my decision. From the angle I had, I did not see his foot get under Molina’s shin guard.”

Do we need any more reason for instant replay? I doubt Meals’ admission will be much of a consolation for Sox manager John Farrell, who was ejected for arguing the call.

The Rays have now won 18 of their last 21 and are in first in the division by a half-game over the Red Sox.

Here’s a close-up look at the play that shows Nava beat the tag:

[Read more...]

Umpire CB Bucknor punches out Seth Smith on strike two (GIF)

Umpire C.B. Bucknor was a little too eager to punch out Oakland A’s left fielder Seth Smith on Thursday.

CB BucknorSmith was facing New York Yankees reliever Adam Warren during the bottom of the 11th inning and had a 2-1 count. Warren threw a change that backed up into the zone, and Smith took it for strike two. Bucknor must have lost track of the count, because he rang up Smith. I mean Bucknor was just textbook with his punchout. He gave it a left-right combination to the body like a champ.

Smith was unfazed by the punchout. He remained in the box — probably somewhat confused by Bucknor’s actions — and grounded out in his at-bat.

Here’s the full video:

[Read more...]

Umpires blow two calls on same play in Padres-Rockies game (Video)

Blown call

Nolan-Arenado-foot-off-bagThe San Diego Padres and Colorado Rockies played into extra innings on Thursday night, and the umpiring crew may have determined the outcome of the game. Or maybe they didn’t. Well, they certainly made things more confusing than they had to be.

As you can see from the GIF above that GameReax shared with us, Yasmani Grandal hit a ground ball to third with the bases loaded in the top of the 12th inning. Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado tried to get the force out at third and fire to first for an inning-ending double play, and he almost pulled it off. Chase Headley scored the go-ahead run when the runner was called out at third and safe at first.

The problem was the umpires got it backwards. The runner at third should have been safe, but third base umpire Cory Blaser called him out despite the fact that Arenado released the ball well before he touched the bag. Then, first base umpire Ed Hickox called the runner safe at first when the throw beat him by about a step. Here’s a video of the play:

[Read more...]

Umpire’s blown call on pickoff play helps give Brewers win (Video)

Jean Segura Kyle KendrickAnother day, another bad call by an umpire showcasing the need for expanded instant replay.

The Milwaukee Brewers got some help from umpire Mike Estabrook during the ninth inning of their 4-3 win over the Philadelphia Phillies on Saturday. The Phillies had pitcher Kyle Kendrick pinch-running on second with one out and the score 4-3. Second baseman Cesar Hernandez was at the plate with a 1-1 count. Brewers reliever Frankie Rodriguez spun to second on a pickoff play, and his throw and the tag seemed to beat Kendrick. The problem is shortstop Jean Segura clearly dropped the ball, but Estabrook could not see that from his angle. All he saw was a throw beat Kendrick and Segura show him the ball, so he called Kendrick out.

As things usually go, Hernandez doubled for what would have been the tying run. The Brewers then intentionally walked Domonic Brown with two outs and got Michael Martinez to ground out to end the game. They won 4-3.

At least umpire crew chief Tom Hallion admitted they got the call wrong.

“The ball goes in the glove and comes out of the glove with Kendrick diving back in and with Segura diving back for the ball,” Hallion told a pool reporter, per The Associated Press. “Obviously, Mike was in the right position to make a pickoff play call like that. But the way that the play developed, the ball comes free and rolls right in Segura’s bare hand and he comes up shows him the ball.”

Maybe that’s what manager Charlie Manuel gets for pinch running a pitcher in the ninth inning of the game. And at least we can say that Kendrick deserved to be called out for taking such a big lead. But if the play were properly called, he would have been called safe.