Skip to main content
Larry Brown Sports Tagline. Brown Bag it, Baby.
#pounditSunday, February 25, 2024

Umpires blow two calls on same play in Padres-Rockies game (Video)

Blown call

Nolan-Arenado-foot-off-bagThe San Diego Padres and Colorado Rockies played into extra innings on Thursday night, and the umpiring crew may have determined the outcome of the game. Or maybe they didn’t. Well, they certainly made things more confusing than they had to be.

As you can see from the GIF above that GameReax shared with us, Yasmani Grandal hit a ground ball to third with the bases loaded in the top of the 12th inning. Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado tried to get the force out at third and fire to first for an inning-ending double play, and he almost pulled it off. Chase Headley scored the go-ahead run when the runner was called out at third and safe at first.

The problem was the umpires got it backwards. The runner at third should have been safe, but third base umpire Cory Blaser called him out despite the fact that Arenado released the ball well before he touched the bag. Then, first base umpire Ed Hickox called the runner safe at first when the throw beat him by about a step. Here’s a video of the play:

Either way, one of the runners should have been safe which would have allowed the go-ahead run to score. It was just entertaining how both umpires blew their call, so the play wound up backwards of what it should have been. Unlike this poor call, the flubs didn’t cost any team a playoff win.

H/T Reddit


Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast
comments powered by Disqus