Skip to main content
Larry Brown Sports Tagline. Brown Bag it, Baby.
#pounditThursday, August 5, 2021

Articles tagged: NHL playoffs 2013

Niklas Hjalmarsson goal waved off forcing Blackhawks to win Game 7 twice

Breaking sports news video. MLB, NFL, NBA, NHL highlights and more.

The Chicago Blackhawks were forced to win Game 7 of the Western Conference semifinals against the Detroit Red Wings twice after an official’s controversial call wiped away a goal scored by Niklas Hjalmarsson late in the game.

Hjalmarsson scored on a slap shot he blasted past Detroit goalie Jimmy Howard with 1:47 left in the game. The goal put the Blackhawks up 2-1, but it was disallowed because referee Stephen Walkom had already blown his whistle prior to Hjalmarsson’s blast. Walkom saw Kyle Quincey and Brandon Saad getting into it by the bench and called coincidental penalties on them.

According to World of Isaac on Twitter, here’s where the puck was when Walkom blew his whistle:


John Tortorella in F-bomb exchange with official (Video)

John TortorellaJohn Tortorella got into it with an official towards the end of the third period of Game 4 between the New York Rangers and Boston Bruins, and there were audible F-bombs exchanged.

Torts could be seen on NBC cameras dropping F-bombs at the official, who also responded with some choice language.

“That’s enough,” the official yelled back at Tortorella.

“F–k you!” he told the Rangers coach.

It was so bad the announcers apologized for the language.

So what was Tortorella so upset about?

The Bruins had a line change and were able to get the puck down by the net with about three minutes left in regulation and the game tied at three. They were trying to push in the puck but were unable to. It looked like Tortorella wanted the officials to blow the whistle because he felt goaltender Henrik Lundqvist was controlling the puck (he wasn’t), and there was a delay in the officials’ call, which allowed the Bruins an extra chance to push in a goal.

Tortorella is one of the most brash coaches in the league, so it was no surprise to hear him go off like that. I’m also guessing this is not what NBC had in mind when they installed microphones near the ice.

Video via @CJZero

Joffrey Lupul: Game 7 loss ‘will haunt me until the day I die’

Joffrey Lupul does not tweet very often. He has tweeted just over 1,100 times, and he hadn’t tweeted since April 23. The playoffs began on April 30. Lupul finally broke his three-week Twitter silence by sending this emotionally-charged message on Tuesday, less than 24 hours after his Toronto Maple Leafs blew a 4-1 3rd-period lead in Game 7 against the Boston Bruins:

Joffrey LupulThe Leafs are believed to be the first team to blow a 4-1 third period lead in Game 7 of a playoff series. They lost 5-4 in overtime, and that was after coming back from down 3-2 in the series.

Lupul’s actually had some crappy luck when it comes to the playoffs. In his second NHL season with the Anaheim Ducks, the team lost to the Edmonton Oilers in the Western Conference finals. The Ducks traded him to Edmonton after the season, and the Ducks went on to win the cup while the Oilers missed the playoffs.

Lupul did not have a point in five of the seven playoff games against Boston.

Stick tap to Hot Clicks

Milan Lucic gave Dion Phaneuf a love tap to the groin in postgame handshakes

Milan Lucic Dion PhaneufBoston Bruins winger Milan Lucic had a pretty awesome series against the Toronto Maple Leafs. He racked up nine points, 32 hits, and he assisted on the goal to make it 4-2 and scored to make it 4-3 in the third period of Game 7.

After the Bruins came back to beat the Leafs in overtime Monday night, Lucic participated in postgame handshakes like everyone else. Only Lucic got a little personal with Toronto defenseman Dion Phaneuf, giving the Leafs captain a tap to the groin. If Phaneuf’s wife Elisha Cuthbert were around, she’d have told Lucic that area is off limits.

Jonathan Quick’s blunder costs Kings the game (Video)

Jonathan Quick Alex SteenJonathan Quick committed a huge blunder that cost the Los Angeles Kings Game 1 of their playoff series with the St. Louis Blues on Tuesday.

The defending champion Kings were on a power play with the game tied 1-1 in overtime. Quick went behind the net to retrieve a puck and was debating which way he should pass it. For some reason, he tried to slip the puck along the boards in the direction of Alex Steen, who was closing in behind the net after just getting on the ice. Steen stole the puck and pushed it in for an easy game-winning goal.

“I don’t have an option to the left, and you’re trying to force him to the left, trying to give my D-man a little more time with the puck …. You try to make him make a decision. And he got the stick on it,” Quick said of the play, via the Los Angeles Times’ Helene Elliott.

The goal was Steen’s second of the game — he also scored in the first on a power play. The Kings were unable to score until 32 seconds left in the game when they finally netted one with the extra man on the ice.

Quick stopped 40 shots on the night, but his one big mistake cost the team. Everything went perfectly for the Kings in their Stanley Cup run last season, but it’s already shaping up to be a much different story this postseason.