pixel 1
header
Saturday, September 21, 2019

Articles tagged: Sergio Garcia

Sergio Garcia addresses Masters meltdown, jokes about naming next child

Sergio Garcia Masters

Sergio Garcia ruined his chances of repeating as Masters champion in 2018 with a single hole on Thursday, but he is handling it about as well as you could expect.

Garcia carded a 13 — that’s right, 13 — on the par-5 15th hole at Augusta National during the first round of the Masters after he put five balls into the water. The scene looked like one right out of the movie “Tin Cup,” and Garcia addressed it on Friday morning.

For those of you who don’t get the reference, Garcia and his wife Angela Akins welcomed their first child last month. They named the little girl Azalea, which was an appropriate choice given that it is also the name of the 13th hole at Augusta. It was on that hole that Garcia made an incredible par during the final round of the Masters last year that set him up for the first major championship of his career. The hole got off to a bad start when he had to take a one-stroke penalty after his drive ended up under an azalea bush.

As Garcia alluded to, the 15th hole also treated him pretty well a year ago. He played the hole at 4-under for the tournament and eagled it during the final round. While the video of him putting balls in the water on Thursday is tough to watch, Garcia has plenty of good memories from the Masters to help comfort him.

Sergio Garcia puts five balls in water on same hole at Masters (Video)

Sergio Garcia

Sergio Garcia has very little chance of repeating as champion at the Masters this year, and he will almost certainly look back on one hole in the first round that totally ruined his chances.

In what will likely go down as the most surreal scene of the weekend, Garcia hit five consecutive balls into the water on the 15th hole. Four of them came from almost the exact same spot after he took his drop. The video below shows Sergio hitting his 10th shot on the par-5 and his fifth different ball of the hole:

Garcia carded a 13 on the hole. He was just 2-over par going into it and came out of it 10-over. That was the closest thing to a real-life “Tin Cup” moment you will ever see.

Sergio enjoyed his time at the Masters so much last year that he ended up naming his daughter accordingly. No one can ever take that green jacket away from him, but that Thursday meltdown on the 15th hole will always be remembered.

Sergio Garcia may have named daughter after hole at Augusta National

Sergio Garcia Masters

Sergio Garcia and his wife Angela Akins welcomed their first child into the world on Wednesday, and there’s a pretty strong chance the couple named the baby girl after a hole at Augusta National. If not, we have a pretty big coincidence on our hands.

Garcia introduced his new daughter Azalea to the world on Twitter.

Azalea, which is a beautiful name and also a type of flower, happens to be the name of the 13th hole at Augusta National. It was on that hole that Garcia made an incredible par during the final round of the Masters last year that set him up for the first major championship of his career. The hole got off to a bad start when he had to take a one-stroke penalty after his drive ended up under a — you guessed it — azalea bush.

Coincidence? We’ll have to wait to hear from Sergio and his wife, but we have already seen examples of how much winning that green jacket meant to him.

Sergio Garcia suffered arm injury taking out his frustration on a bush

Sergio Garcia injured his right arm during the second round of the Open Championship on Friday, and you probably won’t feel sorry for him when you see how it happened.

While struggling early on, Garcia decided to take out his frustrations on some of the thick brush that makes play so challenging at Royal Birkdale. The decision proved unwise.

Garcia appeared to suffer the injury on the 4th hole, and he went on to make an eagle at the 5th. He finished with a 1-under 69 for the round, which was a good score for how tough the conditions were.

Garcia, who is getting set to marry his girlfriend Angela Akins next weekend, kept himself in the hunt in the first two days at the Open. The reigning Masters champion will make the cut with a total score of 2-over after the first two rounds.

Sergio Garcia might wear green jacket to his wedding

Sergio Garcia Masters

Sergio Garcia captured the first major championship of his lengthy PGA career on Sunday, and he plans on wearing the corresponding trophy as long as he can.

Garcia, who defeated Justin Rose in a playoff at the Masters, is getting married this summer. In an appearance on NBC’s “Today” Tuesday morning, the Spaniard was asked if he plans to wear his green jacket during the ceremony. Garcia said he and his girlfriend, Angela Akins, have not ruled it out.

“We’ve been talking about it,” Garcia said. “It hasn’t been decided yet, but it’s a big possibility.”

Garcia sounded serious, so we can only hope his fiancee is on board. The couple is set to tie the knot after the Open Championship in July. Akins has been incredibly supportive of Garcia’s golf career since the two started dating. You can see some photos of the couple here.

Golfers react on Twitter to Sergio Garcia’s Masters win

Sergio Garcia

Sergio Garcia finally broke through on Sunday with his first career major win, and he received plenty of congratulations and support from his fellow golfers.

Many of the world’s top golfers — including some who finished towards the top of the leaderboard at the Masters — sent their congratulations to Garcia. There was a theme to the tweets too; many said that Garcia “deserved” the win. That’s an allusion to Garcia’s long road to his first major.

Take a look at some of the tweets the 37-year-old received:

(more…)

Sergio Garcia received inspirational text from idol Jose Maria Olazabal

Sergio Garcia Masters

Sergio Garcia on Sunday joined Seve Ballesteros and Jose Maria Olazabal as the only three Spanish golfers to ever win a Masters. For Garcia, that was a huge deal as he considered both men his idols.

Speaking from Butler Cabin after winning the Masters — his first career major — Garcia said Sunday that he received an inspirational text from Olazabal prior to the tournament.

“To join [Ballesteros] and (Jose Maria) Olazabal — my two idols in golf my whole life, it’s something amazing. Jose sent me a text on Wednesday night telling me how much he believed in me and what I needed to do and then just believing in myself and being calm and not let things get to me that I have done in the past. Everybody has been great,” Garcia said on CBS about the support he received.

Not only did he join Ballesteros and Olazabal as the third Spanish golfer to win the Masters, but he also did it on what would have been the late Ballesteros’ 60th birthday.

Both Ballesteros and Olazabal won two Masters, so Garcia would have some catching up to do. But claiming his first ever major win after years of being labeled a choker is a major breakthrough. Who knows what this could open up for the rest of his career?