Umpire Sean Barber blew strike three call on Nick Punto (GIF)
Barber completely blew what should have been a strike three call on A’s infielder Nick Punto in the fifth inning. Mariners pitcher Roenis Elias threw a curveball on a 2-2 count that was not even close to missing the strike zone, yet Barber called it a ball. Punto went on to single, steal second, and score on a Sam Fuld triple.
Punto’s run cut Seattle’s lead to 2-1 heading into the sixth. The A’s later tied the game in the eighth and Crisp played hero in extra innings. Had Barber made the right call (which was a very easy call to make) in the fifth, the Mariners would have kept a 2-0 lead at the time. That may have been the difference in winning and losing the game.