Quantcast

Stanford-Notre Dame ends on controversial replay ruling (Video)

Notre Dame beat Stanford 20-13 on Saturday after the referees reviewed a 4th and goal play in overtime and ruled that Cardinal running back Stepfan Taylor was short of the goal line.

The Cardinal handed the ball to Taylor, who had 28 carries for 102 yards, on their final play of the game. After initially appearing to be stuffed in the backfield, Taylor kept moving and wiggled his way toward the goal line. He waded his way over the pile of bodies and appeared to reach the ball over the goal line before being down. The referees said he did not score.

Mike Pereira, the former Vice President of Officiating for the National Football League and current rules analyst for FOX Sports, believes Taylor scored on the play.

“We have looked at ND/STA last play from every angle & feel that it is a TD,” he tweeted. “Progress was not ruled & runner was not down. Ball broke plain.

“The fact that the whistle may or may not have been blown is irrelevant. The play is reviewed and when the whistle blew has no bearing,” Pereira added.

Stanford fell to 4-2 after the loss while Notre Dame improved to 6-0.

Was it a bad call or not? I certainly think so. The Cardinal should have been attempting an extra point to tie the game.

Video via College Football Section



Around The Web

  • mayeryoseph

    Stanford actually scored on 2nd down as well.  Apparently it takes three touchdowns for one to count in the friendly confines of South Bend

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_LFHZJGW4Y6KIH725OXU2FN6V3A Joel

    Somebody should have Bush-pushed Taylor into the end zone on 3rd down

  • SpinMax

    Looks like his left elbow hit the ground just before he extended it at the 20 second mark. This is the first I’m seeing of the play today. when he extends it, his left arm only bends from the elbow down, as it’s resting on the ground

  • http://larrybrownsports.com Larry Brown

    You’re not the first person who’s said that. I thought the ball was across when his elbow was down.

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/U2AN7PEV3E3IXX7KUWDUSQF3CY LauraS

    I agree with SpinMax.  The elbow is down before the ball crosses the plane.

  • marty.thebest

    TOUCHDOWN. Stanford got robbed.

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/4MEE3TWKV5EDVPA4AQ2TUWBCWA Mettler

    Elbow was down AND some ND defenders had let up because of whistle.

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/XT4ZNI6JM7WZGEXTZ4ARZYS4JM Justin

    I’m gonna step out on a limb here and say you don’t like Notre Dame? Unbiased analysis though…

  • http://www.facebook.com/geoffmarolda Geoff Marolda

    Let’s be honest: this wasn’t the reason Stanford lost the game. Regardless of whether he scored or not, Stanford had no business trailing to a mediocre Notre Dame football team. 

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/W6V6VP6VJ3V3K6G277CMROLC3Y Thomas Kahnle

    Clearly his elbow hit the ground before he extended the ball into the end zone and if you should know an elbow counts as a knee which in turns proves he was down and no touchdown, so actually stanford did not in fact get robbed as everyone believes. Everyone needs to open there eyes a little more even a former NFL officiating VP