Quantcast

Golfer Blayne Barber disqualifies himself six days after Q-School event for signing wrong scorecard after moving leaf

Golfer Blayne Barber disqualified himself from the first stage of Q-School six days after the tournament because he believed he signed an incorrect scorecard.

Barber was playing in the second round of the first stage Q-School event at Callaway Gardens-Mountain View Golf Course when he believed he touched a leaf in a bunker on the 13th hole. His caddie/brother, Shayne Barber, told him he didn’t see the leaf move, but Blayne felt it did and penalized himself a stroke.

Despite penalizing himself a stroke on the 13th hole, Barber still tied for fourth by shooting -4 for the tournament. His top-18 finish allowed him to advance to the second stage of Q-school, but that was put on hold when he realized he made a mistake.

Barber was still bothered by the leaf incident and spoke with one of his former Auburn teammates about it later that night. He was informed that the penalty for moving a leaf was two strokes, not one. Even though he played the final two rounds, Barber’s conscience got the better of him.

Six days after the event ended, Barber called the PGA Tour to inform them that he signed an incorrect scorecard (he should have had a 72 in the second round instead of a 71). The worst part is he would have tied for fifth in the tournament had he properly penalized himself two strokes.

“I continued to pray about it and think about it, and I just did not have any peace about it,” Barber said, per Golf Week. “I knew I needed to do the right thing. I knew it was going to be disqualification.”

Barber’s actions allowed six golfers who tied for 19th to advance to the second stage of Q-School. A top amateur before turning pro earlier this year, Barber hopes to receive sponsor exemptions on the PGA Tour and Web.com Tour until he gets his PGA Tour card.

How does he feel about the whole incident?

[Read more...]