Quantcast

Golfer loses potential spot in US Open qualifying after signing incorrect scorecard because of rain

Andrew JensenA golfer was disqualified from US Open sectional qualifying after a competitor called in to report him for signing an incorrect scorecard, which was the result of the golfer having to recall his scores from memory because his scorecard was ruined in the rain.

Andrew Jensen, who is a PGA Tour Canada member, was one of 49 golfers to tee it up at a US Open local qualifying event at Bellevue Country Club in Syracuse, NY, on Wednesday. Jensen signed for a 76, which was the second-best score. The 76 would have given him one of three spots in sectional qualifying, which takes place on June 3. But Jensen inadvertently signed an incorrect scorecard, leading to his disqualification.

It turns out that Jensen shot a 77, not a 76. Jensen apparently three-putted on the par-5 5th hole and earned a seven, but he mistakenly marked himself down for a six.

“The mistake happened because my own personal scorecard was ruined from the rain so I had to briefly go on memory,” Jensen told Larry Brown Sports in a Twitter message.

“A six-hour time in that weather had me fried and being that many over had me sign it quickly. Then as the day went on the score was holding up and I was just in shock that scores were so high.

“It’s really a bummer because the 77 I actually shot was still enough to qualify,” Jensen told LBS.

Had Jensen signed for a 77 — which was his actual score — he would have been part of a four-way tie. The four golfers would have had a playoff to determine who earned the spots in the sectional qualifying.

Canadian pro Brian McCann earned one of the three qualifying spots by shooting a 75. Canadians Chris Hemmerich and Greg Cuthill earned the other two spots by shooting 77s. Amateur Patrick Milkovich of New York lost the playoff and is an alternate.

Jensen told LBS he liked his chances in a playoff because he won a playoff there two years ago.

[Read more...]

Golfer Blayne Barber disqualifies himself six days after Q-School event for signing wrong scorecard after moving leaf

Golfer Blayne Barber disqualified himself from the first stage of Q-School six days after the tournament because he believed he signed an incorrect scorecard.

Barber was playing in the second round of the first stage Q-School event at Callaway Gardens-Mountain View Golf Course when he believed he touched a leaf in a bunker on the 13th hole. His caddie/brother, Shayne Barber, told him he didn’t see the leaf move, but Blayne felt it did and penalized himself a stroke.

Despite penalizing himself a stroke on the 13th hole, Barber still tied for fourth by shooting -4 for the tournament. His top-18 finish allowed him to advance to the second stage of Q-school, but that was put on hold when he realized he made a mistake.

Barber was still bothered by the leaf incident and spoke with one of his former Auburn teammates about it later that night. He was informed that the penalty for moving a leaf was two strokes, not one. Even though he played the final two rounds, Barber’s conscience got the better of him.

Six days after the event ended, Barber called the PGA Tour to inform them that he signed an incorrect scorecard (he should have had a 72 in the second round instead of a 71). The worst part is he would have tied for fifth in the tournament had he properly penalized himself two strokes.

“I continued to pray about it and think about it, and I just did not have any peace about it,” Barber said, per Golf Week. “I knew I needed to do the right thing. I knew it was going to be disqualification.”

Barber’s actions allowed six golfers who tied for 19th to advance to the second stage of Q-School. A top amateur before turning pro earlier this year, Barber hopes to receive sponsor exemptions on the PGA Tour and Web.com Tour until he gets his PGA Tour card.

How does he feel about the whole incident?

[Read more...]

High school golfer Caroline Inglis stripped of state title due to scorecard error

No high school golfer — male or female — has ever won the Oregon state title four consecutive years. But Churchill (Eugene) senior Caroline Inglis almost accomplished the feat this week — and technically did — were it not for a scorecard violation that resulted in her disqualification from the Class 5A state tournament.

Inglis, who took the state title her first three years, finished her final round on Tuesday with a 3-under 69. However, because of a scoring error, Inglis was marked as shooting a 4-under 68. Players are tasked with keeping their partner’s score for the round, and Inglis’ partner scored her making a par on the final hole when she actually made a bogey.

When Inglis realized a mistake had been made, she had already signed and submitted her own card. By then it was too late. She submitted an incorrect scorecard and, per USGA rules, was disqualified, ending her chance at history. She would have been the winner by nine strokes.

After Inglis’ DQ, the state title went to freshman Madison Odiorne of Bend’s Summit High School, which won the team championship. A reportedly distraught Inglis left the course without talking to the media.

“It doesn’t really feel like a win, because I know Caroline really won the whole thing,” Odiorne told The Oregonian.

It’s easy to blame Inglis’ playing partner for not putting down the right score. But Inglis, who is set to play for the University of Oregon next year, was the one who signed off on the score. She should have caught the mistake, especially since the error was on her most recent hole. It’s a brutal lesson, but one she’ll keep with her for life. Or at least whenever she has to play with the USGA’s bogus rules.