Quantcast

Hope Solo and Jerramy Stevens reportedly getting married

Bad news, fellas: It looks like Hope Solo is taken. And she appears to be taken by an ex-football player with whom you’re probably familiar.

Solo and former NFL tight end Jerramy Stevens reportedly are a couple, and they are said to be getting married on Tuesday.

The rumors about the two were mentioned online last month, and they picked up more steam over the past two days. We’ll do our best to piece together the information and tell you what is going on.

The first mention of Solo and Stevens together seemed to come from a tweet by Celebrity TV on Friday Oct. 19:

The next week, The Chicago Tribune confirmed that Solo was at 50/50 watching her Seattle Seahawks play the San Francisco 49ers on Thursday Oct. 18. They mentioned that Stevens was also there, though they didn’t describe him as being together with Solo. Solo was in town for a soccer game on Saturday the 20th against Germany.

This photo, which seemed to have been posted to Instagram, shows Solo and Stevens together. It was posted to a message board on Oct. 23:

[Read more...]

Hope Solo: ‘Dancing with the Stars’ is fixed

Hope Solo taking aim at “Dancing with the Stars” is nothing new, but one particular tidbit of information she revealed about the show in her new book could interest DWTS fans. In the gift that keeps on giving, “Solo: A Memoir of Hope,” Solo claims the show is fixed and that the producers decide which contestants remain from week-to-week — not fan votes.

As RadarOnline.com pointed out, Hope claims in the book that the public feud between her and dance partner Maksim Chmerkovskiy was good for ratings and helped keep her on the show after she was “scheduled” the be eliminated.

“Maks later told me that he had argued with the judges because he had been told we were going to be eliminated, that there was some secret memo going around that said who would be ousted each week,” Solo wrote. “He explained that he wanted to cause some drama on the live portion of the show so that they wouldn’t be able to resist keeping us around, hoping for more fireworks.

“It seems to have worked — we weren’t eliminated that week.”

As we know, Hope also revealed in the book that Chmerkovskiy once slapped her during practice, so if that’s true the drama went well beyond ratings and cinema value. Hope also once accused the shows producers of painting her in a negative light and criticizing her body type. When she was eventually voted off the show and finished in fourth place, Solo sounded like someone who regretted the experience and was glad it was over.

Sources told RadarOnline.com that the DWTS producers are furious with Hope and believe she “made up the allegations simply to sell books.” Of all the things she has said about the show, this is probably the most controversial accusation.

Dancing With the Stars, Maksim Chmerkovskiy reportedly considering legal options against Hope Solo

“Dancing With the Stars” and one if its professional dancers, Maksim Chmerkovskiy, reportedly are considering taking legal action against Hope Solo in response to an allegation she makes in her new book.

In her new book “Solo: A Memoir of Hope,” Solo says Chmerkovskiy, who was her dance partner on the show, once slapped her in the face during a practice session.

Chmerkovskiy hasn’t publicly commented on the story, but he did send a few ambiguous tweets that many believe were a response to Solo:

The Huffington Post reports that neither Chmerkovskiy nor the show has responded because they are considering legal options.

“At the moment, Maks and ABC are not making any public statements, as they are considering legal options,” a source told the Huffington Post. “Not only did Hope not tell the truth in the book, she also signed a contract with the producers of ‘DWTS’ and could be in breach of contract.”

Dancing With the Stars filmed everything that happened during practice sessions, so I think there would be a very easy way to prove whether Solo was lying or telling the truth. Given how honest she’s been in the book about so many embarrassing details, I tend to believe Solo was telling the truth. I say let’s bring in the tape!

Photo via Maksim Chmerkovskiy/Twitter

Hope Solo opens up about kissing a girl, getting slapped by her DWTS partner, and other things in new book

Hope Solo’s new book, “Solo: A Memoir of Hope,” went on sale earlier this week. As expected, it drops some serious bombs. Fans of Hope and Hope haters would likely agree that the story of her life makes for good reading. Business Insider compiled some of the most interesting tidbits from the book after reading it and there are a few that are defintely worth noting.

For starters, Solo said she once made out with a French girl — who she says kept flirting with her — just to see what it would be like.

“I’d had gay teammates throughout my career — I thought maybe I should see their side of things,” she wrote. “So we made out. Interesting but not life-changing. I was straight.”

So there was that fun little account, but there was also stuff that was a lot more serious. Hope also claims in the book that her “Dancing With the Stars” partner, Maksim Chmerkovskiy, was very rough with her during practice and once slapped her in the face while trying to put her head in the correct position. She says the show’s producers asked her if she wanted a different partner following the incident and she declined.

During the show, Solo became upset with the gossip magazines for saying she had a problem with Maksim and insisted she did not. According to a TMZ report, Chmerkovskiy was “shocked” when he heard that Hope had written that in her book and insists the story is “completely false.”

As you can see, the part of Solo’s book where she talked about being conceived during a conjugal visit just barely scratched the surface. She also talked about her love for partying and told a story about a time when she left the U.S.’s training camp in California, drove to Las Vegas, partied all night and returned to practice the next day without sleeping. From the sound of it, the book is a must-read.

Photo Credit: Eric Hartline-US PRESSWIRE

Hope Solo calls out Brandi Chastain

The US women’s soccer team beat Colombia 3-0 in Glasgow, Scotland on Saturday to advance to the quarterfinals at the Summer Games in London. Megan Rapinoe, Abby Wambach, and Carli Lloyd all scored for the US, but the real games began after the contest ended. That’s when goalkeeper Hope Solo went off on NBC commentator and former Olympic gold medalist/World Cup winner Brandi Chastain. Here are all the tweets she sent after the match:

[Read more...]

US women’s soccer coach says sun was in Hope Solo’s eyes during early goals

Allowing two goals in the first half of a match is not something that happens to US Women’s soccer goalie Hope Solo very often. Solo is widely considered to be one of the best — if not the best — goalies in the world. The Americans found themselves trailing 2-0 to France in London on Wednesday after only 14 minutes of play. Fortunately, Alex Morgan was able to score two goals and the US came back to win 4-2. But how did that happen to Hope? Her coach blames the sun.

“(Solo) played better in the second half,” Pia Sundhage said according to USA TODAY. “I think the sun was a little bit bothering to her according to (goalkeeper coach) Paul Rogers, who has been working with her for a long time. Right now she’s really good. I think she was a little bit unlucky in the first half but she played with confidence in the second half. It will be interesting to follow her in the coming games.”

Naturally, Solo made no excuses and certainly wasn’t about to play the sun card.

“There are going to be nerves,” Solo said. “There are going to be unpredictable things that do happen, but that’s what keeps it interesting. … Was the sun a factor, as coach Pia said? I will never use that as an excuse (laughing). There was definitely a glare. It’s a factor, but so is rain and wind. It’s the Olympics and I won’t use it as an excuse.”

There’s also going to be raunchy distractions in the Olympic Village as Solo so kindly shared with the world, but those can’t be used as an excuse either. Sun or no sun, the important thing was the US was able to quickly climb back into the game and remain focused. I’d be surprised if they find themselves trailing by two goals early in the second half many times during the tournament.

Hope Solo was conceived during a conjugal visit

When you watch an athlete on TV or while attending a game, you don’t really think about who they are as a person. You don’t really think about where they came from, what they went through, and what made them who they are. We often just coldly judge athletes based on the hired entertainers we perceive them to be without considering anything else about them. It seems like Hope Solo is trying to change that about herself.

The US women’s soccer team goalie has published an autobiography entitled “Solo: A Memoir of Hope” that goes on sale August 14. Excerpts from the book were released by NBC Olympics on Monday, and they detail Solo’s rough upbringing.

Solo says her father was in and out of her life growing up. He had multiple families, fathered children with different women, and had them living in homes paid for by money he embezzled from a company where he worked. Solo described him as a con man and ladies man who “was unreliable at best and a criminal at worst.”

And get this: Solo says she was conceived during a conjugal visit while her father was serving a prison sentence in Washington.

That’s enough to give you an idea of how rough things were for Hope. She says she’s made peace with her father and that has helped prevent her from being bitter and angry.

Solo described the process of divulging all her secrets as therapeutic, comparing it to having a childhood counselor.

“It was hard. I came to grips with a lot of difficulties that I’ve overcome,” Solo told NBC. “Each challenge kind of makes you who you are. It wasn’t always a good thing. I have my own struggles in my life because of the things I was forced to overcome. So it was hard, it was a reality check, for sure. But I am really happy I’ve done it.

“I just want people to not judge with their eyes, but judge with their hearts, and I think that’s what this book is all about,” she says.

The book comes out August 14. Based on the excerpt and how openly Solo speaks in general, the book should be excellent.

Photo Credit: Eric Hartline-US PRESSWIRE