Skip to main content
Larry Brown Sports Tagline. Brown Bag it, Baby.
#pounditMonday, December 6, 2021

NBA names All-Star Game MVP trophy after Kobe Bryant

Kobe Bryant NBA MVP All-Star trophy

The NBA is honoring Kobe Bryant in an awesome and extremely appropriate way.

The league announced on Saturday evening that they are naming the All-Star Game MVP trophy after Kobe Bryant.

Kobe was an 18-time All-Star during his illustrious NBA career. He won a record-tying four All-Star Game MVPs (Bob Pettit also won four).

“Kobe Bryant is synonymous with NBA All-Star and embodies the spirit of this global celebration of our game,” NBA Commissioner Adam Silver said in a statement. “He always relished the opportunity to compete with the best of the best and perform at the highest level for millions of fans around the world.”

Bryant won NBA All-Star Game MVP in 2002, 2007, 2009 (co-winner with Shaquille O’Neal) and 2011. This suggestion was floated around the time of Kobe’s tragic death, and the NBA listened and acted well by making it happen. Great move by the league.


Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast
comments powered by Disqus