Quantcast

College pitcher takes out runner trying to score with vicious hit (Video)

Hendrix Berry pitcher hitMemo to the pitcher in this video: You’re playing baseball, not football.

According to a description on YouTube, this bizarre play occurred during a D-III college baseball game between Hendrix College (Conway, Ark.) and Berry College (Mount Berry, Ga.) on Sunday. The YouTube user who uploaded the video says it was a Berry College pitcher who tackled a Hendrix runner trying to score on a wild pitch.

The YouTube uploader, whose user name is “HendrixBaseballFan,” says the Berry College pitcher threw at batter Matt Simmons, who had called timeout just before the pitch was delivered. The next pitch was in the dirt, and Hendrix’s runner at third tried to score. We say “tried” to score, because nobody could have predicted what happened next.

As junior center fielder Collin Radack was attempting to score, he was leveled by Berry’s pitcher. You can’t even try to argue the contact was accidental, because the video shows the pitcher locating the runner and running straight at him.

Maybe frustration had taken over at the time; Berry had fallen behind 6-2 after Radack’s run. Berry surprisingly rallied to win the game 9-7 despite the dirty tactic. That was easily the dirtiest hit on a college baseball field since this one, which led to a suspension.

The school’s athletic director informs Larry Brown Sports that the player has been suspended for the team’s next conference three-game series.

H/T Deadspin



Around The Web

  • collofficial

    This situation likely would not have occurred if the plate umpire had
    handled it correctly.
      1. Time out should not have been called/granted. The batter placed his
           back hand up requesting time. A verbal request would have occurred
           instantaneously if at all. This time request was too late. A player should know
           never remove either hand from the bat when a pitch may come in. Verbal
           suffices as “time” a request may not be GRANTED by the plate umpire! (PU)
      2.Here is a gem: The ball was not put in play following the first passed ball at the feet of the left handed batter. (This should have alerted the plate umpire to walk out to the mound and preventatively warn the pitcher while giving the pitcher time to cool off a bit.
    3.   Had all of this still transpired     the plate umpire should have exclaimed at the 
           top of his lungs while pointing toward the pitcher with left index finger: “that’s obstruction” keeping the ball alive is appropriate giving following runners the opportunity to advance at their own peril UNTIL the benches seemed to start clearing. Then “TIME” should be called and players numbers being noted and written down as they shall be ejected per NCAA rules/Fed. Pro rules- sanctions would be levied by their league office.
    Summation: The situation would not have occurred if time was not called/granted
         originally and the PU walked to mound to talk to the pitcher. The pitcher would 
        likely be ejected per following discussion with base umpire for his purposeful  contact (9.01c -pro) The ending action was obviously a once in a lifetime sittuation.
       Remember, players do not call time. They may only request it!
                                               – Doug Baker  “Jim Evans’ Professional Baseball
                                                                           Umpiring School” 1992 

    P.s.  BU,  ALWAYS be in a “hands on knees” set when the pitcher is on the rubber.
             And this means on the knees not hips. A BU inside does not need to see
             behind him if the ball is in front of him. Always keep your buckle to the ball.

            

  • bigyaz

    I realize you’re eager to show off your vast knowledge of the rules, but blaming the umpire for this is absurd. Was the timeout granted late? Yes, but that’s hardly unusual and no excuse for the pitcher’s behavior.

    Re: putting the ball in play. Just because you didn’t see him point doesn’t mean the ball wasn’t put in play. It’s better to point, but if he did it verbally that fulfills the requirement.

    Finally, malicious contact (which was pretty obvious in this case) supercedes the obstruction. Play stops immediately.