Quantcast

Angel Hernandez was hit by a line drive and fans cheered (Video)

During Friday’s game between the Washington Nationals and Atlanta Braves, Nate McLouth hit a ball that was probably going to be a base hit and advance Bryce Harper to third base. But, the ball found second base umpire Angel Hernandez instead of the outfield grass.

angel-hernandez-line-driveAmong Major League Baseball’s umpires, Hernandez isn’t the most popular with fans. And that would probably be an understatement.

Future Hall of Famer Chipper Jones has expressed dislike for him. White Sox broadcaster Hawk Harrelson hilariously flipped out on air after Hernandez blew a call.

Given the sentiment towards Angel Hernandez, the reactions that followed him being hit can’t be seen as completely surprising.

Of all the umpires to get hit, it had to be Angel Hernandez. Judging from the responses, some wouldn’t have had it any other way.

Chipper Jones wants fans to boycott Angel Hernandez-umpired games

Former Atlanta Braves legend Chipper Jones was so disgusted with the umpiring of Angel Hernandez on Friday night, he began telling fans to boycott Hernandez-umpired games.

Jones first got upset when Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons was called out on strikes to lead off the team’s 5-4 loss to the Philadelphia Phillies. Simmons was called out on a 1-2 pitch from Cliff Lee that was up in the zone. It was so high that catcher Humberto Quintero threw the ball back to Lee instead of down to third base because he was expecting it to be called a ball.

Below you can see the location of the pitch:

Cliff Lee Andrelton Simmons

And here’s Quintero getting ready to throw the ball back to the pitcher instead of around the horn:

Humberto Quintero Cliff Lee

That controversial call by Hernandez to start the game ticked off Chipper, who tweeted this:

[Read more...]

Buck Showalter loses it during ejection (Video)

Buck Showalter Angel HernandezBuck Showalter was ejected for the first time all season, and he certainly got his money’s worth.

The Orioles manager was run during the second inning of his team’s 7-6 loss to the Toronto Blue Jays on Friday night, and the ejection was over a controversial strikeout.

Orioles slugger Chris Davis was facing a 1-2 count against knuckleballer R.A. Dickey and whiffed on a pitch for strike three. Davis began running to first because Jays catcher Josh Thole dropped the ball. Home plate umpire Angel Hernandez initially said that Davis fouled off the pitch, but he changed his call after Jays manager John Gibbons argued the ruling.

The overturned call caused Showalter to bolt out of the dugout, and that’s when things got interesting. Go ahead to the 1:00 mark in the video to see the good stuff:

A replay showed that Davis missed the pitch, so the overturned call was the correct one. Here’s a screenshot that shows him missing it:

[Read more...]

Angel Hernandez blows call; Hawk Harrelson flips out

Angel Hernandez Alex Rios

Angel Hernandez blew a call in the 10th inning of the Chicago White Sox-Miami Marlins game on Friday, causing announcer Hawk Harrelson to hilariously flip out on air.

The White Sox and Marlins were tied at three in the bottom of the 10th and Alex Rios was up with the bases loaded and one out. Rios grounded a slow ball to shortstop Adeiny Hechavarria, who flipped to second baseman Derek Dietrich for the force out. Dietrich fired on to first for the double play and Rios barely beat the throw. However, Hernandez didn’t see it that way. He called Rios out to end the inning. Had Rios been called safe, the White Sox would have won 4-3. They ended up winning 4-3 in 11 anyway, but it’s just another example of an Angel Hernandez screw up.

The best part of Hernandez’s mistake was hearing longtime White Sox announcer Hawk Harrelson lose his mind on air:

If that’s not the best Hawk Harrelson flip out on air, then it’s a close second behind this meltdown.

As for Hernandez, well, this doesn’t even come close to his worst call ever. To see that, go here.

You can watch a replay of the call here.

Audio via Eye on Baseball

Angel Hernandez may not have overturned call in protest of instant replay

Angel Hernandez Bob MelvinAngel Hernandez and his umpiring crew refused to overturn an Adam Rosales hit in the ninth inning of Wednesday’s Oakland A’s-Cleveland Indians game despite instant replay showing the ball went out of the park. Had Rosales’ hit been correctly ruled a home run instead of a double, it would have tied the game. Nobody could figure out why Hernandez’s crew did not overturn the call despite reviewing the play on instant replay, but Peter Gammons offered a theory.

During an interview on “The Dan Patrick Show” on Friday, Gammons said he and others thought that Hernandez may have ignored the instant replay out of opposition for the technology.

“Well that was certainly the impression many of us had,” Gammons said. “You couldn’t rationalize seeing what he was able to see and say, ‘it was a double.'”

Hernandez refused to allow a reporter to record his comments after the game. He only said there wasn’t 100 percent evidence to overturn the call.

“It wasn’t evident on the TV we had [that] it was a home run,” Hernandez said, via MLB.com. “I don’t know what kind of replay you had, but you can’t reverse a call unless there is 100 percent evidence, and there wasn’t 100 percent evidence.”

Gammons said he thinks MLB does not pressure umpires to speak with the media after games to alleviate tension between the league and the umpires union.

Though the call was wrong, Gammons does think the mistake and backlash can lead to a good change.

“I do think that this sort of almost belligerence to ignore the replay is just going to move baseball to a better system of replay,” Gammons said.

So is that why Hernandez and his crew refused to overturn the call? Or did they really not see 100 percent evidence the ball traveled out of the park the way everyone else did? I have a hard time believing that they could have watched that replay and not seen the ball go out.

Many umpires dislike instant replay because they dislike admitting they were wrong. I guess this is one way to keep from admitting it.

Angel Hernandez laughably calls strike on pitch a foot outside in WBC (Video)

Angel Hernandez strikeUmpire Angel Hernandez truly embarrassed himself Thursday with one of the worst strike calls we have seen.

Hernandez’s laughable call came during the top of the ninth inning of a Pool 2 game between Team USA and the Dominican Republic in the World Baseball Classic. Pinch hitter Erick Aybar was up with Nelson Cruz on third, one out, and the score 1-1. With the game tied and a spot in the WBC semifinals on the line, the environment was tense and every pitch counted. But Hernandez gave closer Craig Kimbrel the call on a breaking ball a foot off the plate. The pitch was so far outside that it was wide of the batter’s box chalk. Catcher J.P. Arencibia didn’t even bother to try to frame the pitch because it was so bad. Yet Hernandez called it a strike, causing Aybar to lose his mind.

The Dominican infielder composed himself and managed to line a 97 mph fastball into right field on the next pitch to score Cruz and give his team the lead. Jose Reyes drove in Aybar with a base hit, and the Dominican team won the game 3-1 to earn a spot in the WBC semifinals.

Hernandez’s absurd call predictably drew plenty of jeers from baseball fans watching the game. Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Brandon McCarthy summed up the call:

Oakland A’s pitcher Brett Anderson had an even better line after seeing Aybar get a hit on the next pitch:

Here’s a look at the call in GIF form:

[Read more...]