pixel 1
Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Chris Paul re-elected as president of the NBA Player’s Association

LeBron James Chris Paul

After a successful first term, Chris Paul has been re-elected to serve as the President of the NBA Player’s Association. During his first term, Paul was involved in the negotiation of the latest collective bargaining agreement.

“I’m humbled that my fellow players have voted to have me continue as President of the NBPA,” said Paul. “We’ve accomplished a lot these past few years, most notably successfully negotiating a new CBA while avoiding being locked out. But there’s more work to be done. I look forward to helping new players understand and embrace everything the PA does for them, and working to create new opportunities for our players both on and off the court.”

This election occurs just before Paul prepares to opt out of his contract and enter free agency.

During the same meeting, Kings guard Garrett Temple was elected to replace Kyle Korver as a Vice President on the Executive Committee.

The rest of the Executive Committee is comprised of LeBron James (First Vice President), James Jones (Secretary-Treasurer), Carmelo Anthony, Stephen Curry, Andre Iguodala and Anthony Tolliver (Vice Presidents).

Shane McNichol covers college basketball and the NBA for Larry Brown Sports. He also blogs about basketball at Palestra Back and has contributed to Rush The Court, ESPN.com, and USA Today Sports Weekly. Follow him on Twitter @OnTheShaneTrain.

Follow Larry Brown Sports on Twitter | Like us on Facebook for latest news


comments powered by Disqus