pixel 1
header
Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Controversial Thaddeus Moss catch confirmed despite foot out of bounds

LSU Tigers wide receiver Thaddeus Moss made an incredible catch at the goal line in Saturday’s game against Alabama, but there was significant controversy over whether it should’ve been allowed to stand.

Moss made the grab at the Alabama one-yard line, and it was ruled a catch on the field. However, on review, the pylon camera showed that Moss had one foot planted firmly out of bounds before the ball was thrown to him.

Moss managed to tap a foot in bounds before making the catch, however. After a lengthy review, the referees said that the catch was confirmed, but didn’t give much explanation as to why.

The only way this should have been allowed to stand is if officials ruled that Moss was shoved before making the catch. That would have allowed him to be the first to touch the ball as long as he re-established himself in bounds without committing an illegal touching foul.

When the game resumed in the third quarter, CBS rules analyst Gene Steratore explained what happened. The ruling on the field was that Moss was pushed out of bounds, which is not a reviewable matter, explaining why they did not call him for illegal touching. LSU ended up scoring a touchdown on the possession.

It was such a great catch that many weren’t upset to see it confirmed, and it’s Randy Moss’ son — of course there’s some inherent athletic ability there. Whether it should have been confirmed, though, is a different story.

LSU Fans, He said it, you wear it! Get your “Roll Tide, what? F–k You!” shirts right here:



Follow Larry Brown Sports on Twitter | Like us on Facebook for latest news

Read more LBS stories:

Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast

Comments

comments powered by Disqus