pixel 1
header
Monday, December 9, 2019

Watch: Texans robbed of incredible touchdown by bizarre sack call

Houston Texans quarterback Deshaun Watson looked to have produced a dazzling touchdown against the Indianapolis Colts — until the referees had their say.

On 3rd and goal from the 4, Watson seemingly ducked out of two sacks, stayed on his feet, and managed to find DeAndre Hopkins in the end zone for a Houston touchdown. It was ruled on the field, however, that Watson was “in the grasp” of Colts defender Justin Houston, meaning he was ruled down and the play was recorded as a sack.

Watson’s knee never touches the ground. He’s clearly still trying to make a throw even as Houston tries to bring him down. At no point should this play have been stopped.

This isn’t the first time this rule has been applied oddly in a game. It’s meant to protect the quarterback, but in this instance, Watson didn’t need protecting yet.



Follow Larry Brown Sports on Twitter | Like us on Facebook for latest news

Read more LBS stories:

Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast

Comments

comments powered by Disqus