pixel 1
header
Thursday, December 12, 2019

Referees cost Cowboys shot at points with terrible sack call

Dak Prescott Lael Collins

The referees cost the Dallas Cowboys a shot at some points with a terrible call late in the second quarter of Saturday’s NFC playoff game in Los Angeles.

The Cowboys were down 20-7 to the Rams and had a 3rd-and-7 at the Rams 36. Dak Prescott was feeling some pressure and grabbed by teammate La’el Collins. An official blew the whistle to stop the play, likely citing the “in the grasp” rule. That rule only applies to when defenders have the quarterback in the grasp and it’s used to protect the quarterback from a potential hit.

In this case, the only one who had Prescott wrapped up was Collins.

The blown whistle prevented the Cowboys from finishing out the play and took them out of field goal range. They ended up punting on 4th-and-14, giving the ball back to the Rams. Had the whistle not been blown, Prescott would have had a shot to convert a first down. He also could have thrown the ball away to give the Cowboys a shot at a 53-yard field goal.



Follow Larry Brown Sports on Twitter | Like us on Facebook for latest news

Read more LBS stories:

Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast

Comments

comments powered by Disqus