Bruce Cassidy: Missed call is ‘black eye’ for NHL
Bruce Cassidy made his feelings known after his Boston Bruins lost 2-1 to the St. Louis Blues in Game 5 of the Stanley Cup Final on Thursday night.
Cassidy spoke with the media after the game and voiced his complaints about the glaring missed call that preceded David Perron’s goal to put the Blues up 2-0 midway through the third period. Noel Acciari was taken out on a trip by Tyler Bozak, which was not called a penalty. The Blues took advantage while Acciari was down and scored to increase their lead.
Cassidy said he was yelling at the referees after the goal to tell them they had blown the f—ing call. The Bruins head coach said the team felt like they got screwed. He said the missed call was “egregious” and a “black eye” for the league.
Cassidy on refs: “The narrative changed after Game 3,” referring to Berube’s complaints.
Acciari missed call was “egregious,” he said. “Their guy was on the way to the box. … It was right there.”
Cassidy called it a “black eye” for the NHL.
— Matt Porter (@mattyports) June 7, 2019
Though Boston scored a few minutes later, it wasn’t enough as they fell 2-1 in the game.
The Blues now have a 3-2 series lead and a chance to win the Stanley Cup during Game 6 at home on Sunday.