Quantcast

Mario Fannin Touchdown Run Should Have Been Ruled an Auburn Fumble

Auburn running back Mario Fannin got credited with a 3-yard touchdown run to give the Tigers a 17-14 lead in the second quarter against Arkansas. Though Fannin appeared to have a clear path to the end zone, he was met just before the goal line and had the ball knocked out. Because the play happened so quickly and because it was just in front of the goal line, the referees ruled the run a touchdown. The play was challenged but not overturned because there was a lack of conclusive evidence to change the call. Most of the angles for the replay weren’t helpful because you couldn’t tell where the ball came out, but this was the only shot that mattered:

As you can see, the ball had already come out before Fannin reached the end zone. It happened so quickly you would only see what happened through replay, but the correct call was a fumble. Arkansas should have had the ball up 14-10 in the second quarter, but instead Auburn got credit for the touchdown and took the 17-14 lead.



Around The Web

  • http://twitter.com/IntheOT Chad Margulius

    Youre really on top of these blown calls LB. Love seeing the photographic evidence. It should be sent to the people in charge of officiating. Knowing them they would still turn a blind eye.

  • Anonymous

    You can’t tell anything from that photo. It is blurry and does nothing to conclusively answer the fumble question one way or another. Whenever you have to include a big red arrow pointing to where the ball is or is not, that is a good sign your photographic eveidence is shotty. In addition, if the play was challenged and reviewed and not overturned, and you yourself say there is lack of any conclusive evidence, then what makes you an expert on what the call SHOULD have been????

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_RU5YOL6VH2CPDJ5K2POTOLWURU Mark Wainwright

    Because of the angle of that photo your assessment LARRY BROWN is incorrect. If one could simply move the camera angle to the right the ball had clearly broken the plane, actually the ball is about 1/2 ft over the line in this angle and landed back in the field of play meaning the balls forward progress was reversed when the opposing player stripped the ball…therefore, judging by this photo the ball was approx.1 ft forward of the goal line when it was first released and sent on a reverse trajectory…simple physics. Use your head not your eyes…

  • Anonymous

    the photo you need is when Fannin still had the ball. The ball lands on its nose about 4″-5″ short of goal line pointing straight down; in video it looks like it drops almost straight down after getting punched out. No way Fannin was carrying the ball with the nose down so if it fell straight down and rotated it was a TD since the ball is over 11″ long. If the ball was knocked backwards out of his hand it is still a TD.