pixel 1
header
Sunday, September 15, 2019

Did referees miss Klay Thompson out of bounds in final seconds?

Klay Thompson out of bounds

Did the officials miss a turnover by Klay Thompson in the final seconds of Game 5 of the Western Conference semifinals on Wednesday night between the Golden State Warriors and Houston Rockets?

Golden State was up 102-99 with 18.6 seconds left and taking the ball out under their basket. Thompson got the ball, dribbled up the court, and ended up trapped by two Rockets after a pass. He jumped up to pass the ball and landed out of bounds. The question is whether he let go of the ball before he landed out of bounds.

This screenshot seems to show that a turnover should have been called:

Had a call been made, the Rockets would have gotten the ball back down three with around 10 seconds left and a decent chance at tying the game.

It’s easy to see why they might be upset over the blown call, especially when you factor in that the Rockets were victims of an even worse blown call against Golden State in January.

Golden State pulled out a 104-99 win and now leads the series 3-2. Game 6 will be in Houston on Friday, with all questions being about Kevin Durant’s health.



Follow Larry Brown Sports on Twitter | Like us on Facebook for latest news

Read more LBS stories:

Comments

comments powered by Disqus