Skip to main content
Larry Brown Sports Tagline. Brown Bag it, Baby.
#pounditWednesday, April 21, 2021

Referees badly blow call on Texas Tech blocked shot

Tariq Owens out of bounds

The referees badly blew a call on a blocked shot by Texas Tech in the final minute of their West Regional final game against Gonzaga in the NCAA Tournament on Saturday.

The Red Raiders were leading the Bulldogs 68-62 with under a minute left. Gonzaga’s Rui Hachimura attempted a three from the corner and was blocked by a leaping Tariq Owens. Owens stepped landed out of bounds and then jumped to try and save the ball. The referees missed that Owens was out of bounds upon landing, and allowed his save to make it a live ball situation.

The call is not reviewable, which was unfortunate for Gonzaga.

Texas Tech was fouled by Gonzaga, sending Brandone Francis to the line where he made 1 of 2 free throws to extend the lead to seven. Instead of Gonzaga having the ball down by six, Texas Tech got possession, took more time off the clock, and was sent to the line to extend their lead. That was a big blown call.

Texas Tech ended up winning 75-69 to advance to the Final Four.

.

Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast
comments powered by Disqus