pixel 1
Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Kyler Murray wins 2018 Heisman Trophy

Kyler Murray

Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Kyler Murray was named the 2018 Heisman Trophy winner during a ceremony on Saturday night in mid-town Manhattan, New York. Murray beat out fellow finalists Tua Tagovailoa and Dwayne Haskins to become the 84th Heisman Trophy winner. He is also the seventh Heisman Trophy winner from the Oklahoma program, joining Billy Vessels, Steve Owens, Billy Sims, Jason White, Sam Bradford and Baker Mayfield. Murray actually went back-to-back with Mayfield, who won for Oklahoma in 2017.

Murray, a junior, put on an offensive show all season for Oklahoma. He completed 70.9 percent of his passes for 4,053 yards, 40 touchdowns and 7 interceptions. He also rushed for 892 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Murray helped Oklahoma to a 12-1 season, avenging his one loss to Texas with a 379-yard, 3-touchdown effort in the rematch in the Big 12 Championship Game.

He received 2,167 total points, beating out Tagovailoa, who had 1,871 points and Haskins (783).

Follow Larry Brown Sports on Twitter | Like us on Facebook for latest news

Read more LBS stories:


comments powered by Disqus