Skip to main content
Larry Brown Sports Tagline. Brown Bag it, Baby.
#pounditTuesday, September 29, 2020

Did Eagles use illegal formation on trick play touchdown?

Eagles Touchdown

Did the Philadelphia Eagles get away with one on their incredible trick play for a touchdown just before halftime of the Super Bowl?

The Eagles ran a direct snap reverse pass to Nick Foles for a score on 4th-and-goal with under a minute left in the half. It was an awesome play call, but Matt Chatham on Twitter pointed out that the way the Eagles lined up appeared to be illegal.

NFL rules require teams to have seven players on the line of scrimmage. The receiver at the top of the screen (Alshon Jeffery) was lined up behind the line of scrimmage, leaving Philly with just six players on the line of scrimmage. That would make it an illegal formation.

However, if Jeffery receiver was lined up behind the line of scrimmage, it was only by a small margin and did not materially seem to affect the trick play, meaning his positioning did not appear to give Philly any sort of advantage or add confusion. Receivers also often check with the official when they line up to make sure they’re considered on the line of scrimmage, which means he could have received clearance from a ref in this case.

Regardless, the play call and result stood, and Philly went up 22-12 on New England. The Twitter reactions to the play and call were awesome.

Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast
comments powered by Disqus