Andrew Shaw header goal in OT gets waved off (Video)
If you thought soccer was the only sport where you could use your head to score a goal, Chicago Blackhawks center Andrew Shaw proved you wrong on Tuesday night.
However, Shaw and everyone else quickly learned that scoring on a header is not legal in the NHL. The goal, which came with eight minutes remaining in the second overtime period, was correctly waved off.
Most people — including current NHL players — had no idea head-butting the puck into the net was illegal.
I'm back…. Just to say I had no idea you couldn't score with your head. And I've played 11 years. Still didn't know. Enjoy the game.
— Joffrey Lupul (@JLupul) May 20, 2015
Non of the analysts knew the rule.
— Silvy (@WaddleandSilvy) May 20, 2015
Now we know. The Blackhawks went on to defeat the Anaheim Ducks, 3-2, in triple-overtime. Like we said, the refs got the call right. This wasn’t like the last time the Blackhawks had to win a game twice in the playoffs.
Video via Chicago Sun-Times