Quantcast

Ukraine robbed of goal on missed call by refs, loses 1-0 to England (Picture)

Ukraine was robbed of a goal when the referees missed a ball crossing the goal line in the 62nd minute of the country’s Group D match against England at Euro 2012 on Tuesday.

Down 1-0, Marko Devic looped a ball that crossed the goal line before it was hooked out and saved by John Terry. The referees missed that it crossed the line and Ukraine missed out on a goal because of it.

On top of missing the goal, Ukraine was also offside to start the break, so the referees missed two calls in a short span.

Ukraine ended up losing 1-0 and finished third in Group D. England won the group and advanced along with France.

And yes, this is the latest in a long line of reasons why soccer needs replay or goal line technology.

Screen cap via Mock Session

Granada player chucks sports drink at face of referee after loss to Real Madrid (Video)

Things turned ugly following Real Madrid‘s 2-1 road victory over Granada in La Liga on Saturday. Granada kept itself in danger of relegation when a 90th-minute own goal essentially sealed the victory for Madrid. An incensed Granada side was denied a chance for a last-gasp equalizer on a corner kick at the end of the game, and a mob of players confronted the head referee when he blew the final whistle. Coaches, assistant referees and Madrid players tried their best to intervene and protect the ref. At one point a player (allegedly Dani Benitez) manages to nail the referee in the face with a filled sports-drink bottle. Eventually police in riot gear came on to the pitch to help quell the rebellion. It looked like an Occupy Oakland protest except there were referees doling out red cards.

H/T Dirty Tackle

Notre Dame called for lane violation, loses comeback bid vs. Xavier

Notre Dame lost to Xavier in the first round of the NCAA Tournament Friday 67-63, and they lost on a questionable call by the refs. Guard Eric Atkins was at the free throw line for a one-and-one with 2.8 seconds and his team down 65-63. He made the first free throw, but it was waved off because the referee called a lane violation. Yup, the same lane violation that cost UNC Asheville against Syracuse on Thursday.

Guard Jerian Grant went from the backcourt and crossed the three-point line before the ball hit the rim, triggering the call. Instead of Atkins shooting for the tie, Xavier took the ball out, got fouled, and made two free throws to win it 67-63.

Even though the call is by the book, it’s not something that’s called during the regular season therefore it’s not something that should be called in the final 3 seconds with a game on the line. If you really want to go by the book, then the referees should be calling travels, carrying, and offensive or defensive fouls every other play. Some things you have to let go to keep the flow of the game, and this certainly was one of them.

Below is another look at the lane violation in slow-motion:

[Read more...]

UNC Asheville screwed by refs in final minutes against Syracuse

Syracuse almost became the first No. 1 seed ever to lose to a No. 16 seed in the NCAA Tournament, but they avoided the upset thanks to some help from the referees.

Aside from a controversial goaltending call, the refs called a lane violation on UNC Asheville following Scoop Jardine’s miss on the first of a one-and-one. Because of the violation, Jardine got to attempt his free throw again and made both, turning a four-point game into a six-point lead 64-58 lead for Syracuse with a minute and a half left in the game. While the call was technically correct (a player not on a legal lane space cannot cross the free throw line until the ball hits the rim), it was a petty call that is hardly made.

Additionally, a ball went out of bounds off Syracuse in the final minute, but it was called off Asheville. Asheville was down by three points when the blown call occurred:

[Read more...]

Video: Magic-Thunder Ref’s Behind-the-Back Pass Fail

NBA players apparently weren’t the only ones bored by the lockout — the refs were too. One of the officials for the Magic-Thunder game tried showing off his passing chops by going behind his back after a made basket. One problem — his moves weren’t as smooth as he had hoped.

Here’s the video:

Chest bump I am a GM

Navy Comeback Wiped Out by Unsportsmanlike Penalty, Was it Fair?

More often than football fans would like, exhuberance is often mistaken for unsportsmanlike behavior. Egregious celebrations aside, players should have a little wiggle room to be excited. The good news is that they usually get it. Unfortunately that was not the case for Navy quarterback Kriss Proctor. The great fourth quarter comeback by the Midshipmen was all for naught when Proctor was flagged for an unsportsmanlike penalty after scoring in overtime Saturday against Air Force.

The overtime touchdown was Navy’s first lead against Air Force. Football is a game of yards, and the 15 yards that came with the flag turned out to be very costly. After being pushed back on their extra-point attempt, Navy missed the kick and their lead stood at six points. Air Force subsequently scored and kicked the PAT to win the game. After coming back from 18 points and taking the lead, this was a rip-your-heart-out kind of penalty.

But should Proctor have been penalized?  On replay, Proctor emerged from the pile and slighty shoved a Falcon player (I say “slightly” because the man barely even registered the contact) as he made his way to the other side of the pile.  Then, he pushed another Falcon who was still standing over the pile, presumably to get him out of the way so his teammates could get up.   We’re talking about a man full of glee and adrenaline and testosterone.  Still, nothing Proctor did seemed that flagrant, especially if you consider the circumstances.

Back judge David Vaughan, who threw the flag, probably missed the Steelers/Ravens game because there were at least a half dozen altercations that looked much worse than Proctor’s penalty. The call was sort of like getting ticketed for speeding at 70 on the freeway.

Although the place-kicker should have made what was basically a chip shot FG, plays ought to be analyzed on their own, not what comes afterward. In this case, neither Vaughan, nor Proctor should be tongue-whipped. Instead, let’s ask ourselves why referees, especially the college variety, don’t start giving a little more space between bad sportsmanship and joy? It’s not like Proctor jumped up just to get into it with an Air Force defender.

Toledo Loses to Syracuse After Officials Blow Call on Extra Point (Video)

Syracuse beat Toledo 33-30 in overtime Saturday after getting some help from the officials on an extra point. Syracuse had scored a touchdown with 2:07 left in the game to make it 29-27. Their extra point attempt, pictured in the image above, and featured in videos below, went wide left. The officials didn’t realize that it missed and gave Syracuse the point to make it 30-27.

Toledo kicked a field goal at the end of regulation to tie the game and send it to overtime. They ended up losing 33-30. Had the correct call been made on the extra point, the Rockets’ field goal at the end of regulation would have made it 30-29.

Here is an animated look at the extra point with stills from Sports Grid:

[Read more...]