Skip to main content
Larry Brown Sports Tagline. Brown Bag it, Baby.
#pounditSaturday, March 2, 2024

Seahawks screwed after referees miss blatant 49ers pass interference on 3rd-and-goal

49ers pass interference

The NFL referees and booth missed a blatant pass interference committed by the San Francisco 49ers at the end of the Niners’ 26-21 win over Seattle on Sunday night to clinch the NFC West.

The Seahawks had a 3rd-and-goal from the six with 15 seconds left, needing a touchdown to take the lead and win the division. Russell Wilson looked to Jacob Hollister but passed incomplete. Hollister couldn’t believe there was no penalty flag thrown since he was so obviously held by Fred Warner.

Even though the referees on the field missed the defensive holding/pass interference, there was a chance for the booth to review the play.

“He’s clearly got him grabbed, significantly hindering the receiver. This should be a booth review. I’m surprised they have not stopped the game,” said NBC rules analyst Terry McAulay.

Despite McAulay believing the league should have stepped in, nobody did, and the game went to fourth down. Wilson threw to Hollister again, who came up just short of the goal line.

Many pointed out that the NFL instituted the new rule over the offseason so that the league could step in and overturn badly missed calls, such as this one, and the one that hurt the Saints last season.

Yet again, the Saints were screwed by a missed pass interference call. Because the 49ers won, New Orleans got pushed down to the three seed. They would have been the two seed if Seattle won. Seattle also now drops to the five seed and will visit the Eagles in the wild-card round.


Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast
comments powered by Disqus