Skip to main content
Larry Brown Sports Tagline. Brown Bag it, Baby.
#pounditThursday, September 21, 2023

Anibal Sanchez had classy response after losing no-hitter

Anibal Sanchez salute

Anibal Sanchez had an extremely classy response after losing his no-hitter in Game 1 of the NLCS on Friday night.

Sanchez took a no-hitter into the eighth inning against the St. Louis Cardinals and got two outs before pinch-hitter Jose Martinez broke it up with a single. Washington Nationals manager Davey Martinez decided to remove Sanchez, who had thrown 103 pitches at that point.

The Nationals starter gave a tribute to Jose Martinez as he exited the mound, pointing at his fellow Venezuelan.

Sanchez also found home plate umpire Mike Muchlinski and pointed to him as well as another tribute.

Sanchez went 7.2 innings, allowing one hit, no runs, one walk, two hit-by-pitches and five strikeouts. He benefited from a stellar play in the field and got the win as the Nats took Game 1 2-0.


Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast
comments powered by Disqus