Dustin Johnson may have caused his ball to move as he was addressing it on the fifth green at the U.S. Open Sunday, and it could result in a penalty stroke.
A rules official approached Johnson on the 12th tee to inform him that a video review showed his ball did, in fact, move before he hit the putt. While it didn’t appear that Johnson addressed the ball, it’s possible the vibrations from his putter being placed down next to the ball caused it to move. Here’s the video:
The official later explained that he asked Johnson if there was something other than his actions that could have caused the ball to move. Johnson said he wasn’t sure, so he was told he could be facing a one-stroke penalty after the round pending further review. He was in the lead at 5-under at the time.
From the way the official explained it on air, it sounds as though the belief is that Johnson is responsible for the ball moving.
— FOX Sports (@FOXSports) June 19, 2016
Several of Johnson’s fellow golfers immediately took to Twitter to rip the USGA.