pixel 1
header
Monday, December 9, 2019

Matteo Berrettini called for coaching violation during US Open match

Matteo Berrettini

Matteo Berrettini was called for a violation during his US Open quarterfinals match against Gael Monfils after the chair umpire saw his coach sharing advice during the match.

Berrettini had just broken Monfils to go up 4-2 in the fifth set and was getting prepared to serve. That’s when the umpire apparently saw some coaching from Vincenzo Santopadre and called a violation.

It’s unclear exactly what Santopadre did to earn the violation in that instance, but he had been giving Berrettini directions and signals using his hands at points during the match.

ESPN’s commentators noted it was the third coaching violation given out on the men’s side of the tournament this year. Berrettini was up 5-2 in the set after holding serve to win that game, but he allowed Monfils to rally back and tie things at five.

The violation being called caused many to recall what happened with Serena Williams last year, who was called for the same violation and lost her mind, leading to a huge meltdown and major controversy. Rather than flip out on the umpire and blame him, Berrettini kept playing and won the game.



Follow Larry Brown Sports on Twitter | Like us on Facebook for latest news

Read more LBS stories:

Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast

Comments

comments powered by Disqus