pixel 1
header
Monday, October 21, 2019

AAC confusingly defends controversial replay review that cost Memphis

The Memphis Tigers fell to 5-1 after losing on Saturday against Temple for their first defeat of the season, but they definitely have some reason to feel hard done.

On 4th and 9 with just under two minutes left, Memphis receiver Joey Magnifico appeared to make a great catch to give the Tigers a first down. Doing so would have brought them into field goal range trailing 30-28, with plenty of time to get closer or even score a touchdown.

The play was called a catch on the field, but was overturned on replay review despite no clear evidence that the ball ever hit the ground.

Magnifico bobbled the ballbut seemed to keep it from hitting the ground. Despite this, the AAC defended the replay crew, saying it was a judgment call.

“The ruling was that the Memphis player didn’t have control of the ball as it hit the ground and there was enough video evidence to confirm it,” AAC assistant commissioner for communications Chuck Sullivan said in a statement, via ESPN’s Andrea Adelson.

The call could well cost the Tigers a New Year’s Six bowl, so it’s not without consequence. Considering the call on the field was a catch, it’s hard to see the convincing visual evidence used for the overturn.



Follow Larry Brown Sports on Twitter | Like us on Facebook for latest news

Read more LBS stories:

Comments

comments powered by Disqus