Nickell Robey-Coleman admits he committed pass interference
Nickell Robey-Coleman was involved in a blown call that helped send his Los Angeles Rams to the Super Bowl, and even he is not shy in admitting that he got away with something.
Robey-Coleman said after the game that he made contact with New Orleans Saints receiver Tommylee Lewis early and hit him hard because he knew he was beat and he was trying to prevent a touchdown.
Nickell Robey-Coleman just told me in #Rams locker room that he deliberately hit #Saints as hard as he could, to stop what he thought would be sure TD — and yes, he says he was early and looked for flags afterward. Said officials let it get dirty, and it fit dirtier by end
— John Kryk (@JohnKryk) January 21, 2019
Robey-Coleman admitted to committing pass interference by hitting Lewis early. The NFL also admitted to Sean Payton that not only should PI have been called, but so should have an illegal hit to the head of a defenseless receiver.
Robey-Coleman straight up said he clobbered the receiver and was willing to take that penalty rather than sacrifice a touchdown. The only ones who didn’t recognize this were the referees. All offseason, the Saints and their fans will be wondering how this call was missed. They may never get over it.