Sean Payton says he was told by NFL that referees blew PI call
The NFL knows they got a call wrong that kept the New Orleans Saints from reaching the Super Bowl.
Saints head coach Sean Payton said after his team lost 26-23 in overtime to the Los Angeles Rams that he had spoken with the NFL and was told the referees blew the call on a pass interference late in regulation.
“It was simple, they blew the call.”
Saints head coach Sean Payton discusses the explanation he got from the officials about the controversial pass interference no-call. pic.twitter.com/nCCFqFmF5N
— CBS Sports HQ (@CBSSportsHQ) January 20, 2019
Nickell Robey-Coleman hit Tommylee Lewis early and in the head on a third down play with under two minutes to go in a 20-20 game. He should have been penalized for both pass interference and an illegal hit to the head of a defenseless player. Instead, nothing was called, which brought up fourth down.
Wil Lutz kicked a field goal to give the Saints the lead, but the Rams were able to tie it and send it to overtime.
Had a penalty been correctly called, the Saints would have gotten a fresh set of downs and been able to run down the clock and kick to win the game with no time left. The blown call in all likelihood cost them a Super Bowl appearance.