NHL rep defends official over missed penalty on ‘judgement call’
An NHL representative defended the missed call in Game 5 of the Stanley Cup Final on Thursday, deeming it a judgement call.
Reporters were looking for a comment from the league about the play, which included a trip by Tyler Bozak on Noel Acciari, paving the way for a St. Louis Blues goal to make it 2-0 in the third period on the Boston Bruins.
NHL Sr VP/Dir of Officiating Stephen Walkom answered a question from a pool reporter by saying they don’t comment on judgement calls before offering a defense of the official for using judgment to decide a penalty was not needed.
NHL Sr VP/Dir of Officiating Stephen Walkom on the no-call on Bozak to pool reporter: "We don't make comments on judgment calls within games. There are hundreds of judgment calls in every game. The official on the play, he viewed it and he didn't view it as a penalty at the time"
— Jim Thomas (@jthom1) June 7, 2019
All you need to know about the play is the way Bozak acted afterwards. He looked guilty and was expecting a penalty to come. He seemed to know he got away with one.
Tyler Bozak on the non-call on Acciardi, says it was a puck battle and he wasn’t sure what exactly happened. “But I’ll take it.”
He hasn’t seen a replay of it.
— Pierre LeBrun (@PierreVLeBrun) June 7, 2019
The Bruins were able to refocus after the missed call and still scored to make it 2-1, but they lost by that score to fall behind 3-2 in the series. Bruins coach Bruce Cassidy was critical of the league for the call, saying it was an “egregious” miss and “black eye” for the league.