Skip to main content
Larry Brown Sports Tagline. Brown Bag it, Baby.
#pounditSunday, April 21, 2024

Referees criticized over big missed call at Rose Bowl

Michigan running into the kicker

The Michigan Wolverines appeared to get away with one during Monday’s College Football Playoff semifinal, and that led to the referees facing some criticism.

The Wolverines appeared to get away with running into Alabama punter James Burnip late in the first quarter of the Rose Bowl. Michigan special teams player Kechaun Bennett appeared to catch Burnip’s punting leg, but no flag was thrown.

The contact was not much, and Burnip definitely sold it, but it certainly appeared to be running into the kicker, and ESPN rules analyst Bill Lemonnier felt that a flag should have been thrown. Even if it had only been a 5-yard penalty, Alabama was punting on 4th and 3, so it would have given them a first down.

Former NFL referee and current NBC rules analyst Terry McAulay was also critical of the non-call, calling the lack of a flag “inexcusable.”

Ultimately, Michigan did not score on the ensuing drive, but the lack of a flag did deprive Alabama of the chance to extend their own series.

The Wolverines caught a few breaks during the first half, but clearly outplayed the Crimson Tide in pretty much every department aside from special teams. Despite that, they only led 13-10 at halftime.

.

Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast
comments powered by Disqus