Quantcast

Patriots lose on ridiculous unsportsmanlike conduct penalty on Chris Jones

The New England Patriots lost to the New York Jets 30-27 in overtime on Sunday after referees called an obscure and ridiculous unsportsmanlike conduct penalty on Pats rookie Chris Jones.

The call came on a 54-yard field goal Nick Folk missed wide to the left to keep the game tied at 27. Jones was flagged for stacking up behind his teammate and pushing one of his defensive lineman into a Jets lineman. As of a new rule created this year designed to protect players, that is an illegal play.

The 15-yard penalty allowed the Jets to retain possession and move closer for a field goal. They won the game on a 42-yard kick from Folk.

According to NFL rules guru Mike Pereira, that is the first time the penalty has been called this season.

Referees apparently had been shown examples of this rules violation and were told to start calling it. The Pats were the first victim.

“It’s my mistake. It’s all my fault,” Jones said after the loss.

Chris Jones penalty

Also see: Did Jets do same thing earlier in game?

Referees missed horse collar tackle on Johnny Manziel at end of game

Referees missed an obvious horse collar tackle by Auburn to bring down Johnny Manziel in the final minute of the Tigers’ 45-41 upset win over Texas A&M on Saturday. The teams combined to score 31 points in the fourth quarter, with Auburn’s 12-play, 75-yard touchdown drive standing up as the final score.

Manziel, who returned from a shoulder injury suffered earlier in the quarter, got the ball back at the 35 with 1:19 left. The Aggies got down to the Auburn 18 and were pushed back to the 26 after a sack. On third and 18, Manziel scrambled to his left for five yards and was brought down by a horse collar tackle from Kris Frost. Unfortunately, the referees did not call a penalty, which is supposed to be 15 yards and an automatic first down. A&M should have had a first down inside the 10 instead of 4th and 13 at the 21 and the game ending on a sack.

Here’s the exact language on the horse collar tackle rule from the NCAA rule book:

All players are prohibited from grabbing the inside back collar of the shoulder pads or jersey, or the inside collar of the side of the shoulder pads or jersey, and immediately pulling the ball carrier down. This does not apply to a ball carrier, including a potential passer, who is inside the tackle box (Rule 2-34). Note that the tackle box disintegrates when the ball leaves it.

Yup, that missed call made a huge difference in the outcome of the game. This is pretty indisputable:

[Read more...]

Referee Terry McAulay still thinks Andy Reid coaches Philadelphia?

Andy ReidReferee Terry McAulay might be a little confused about which team Andy Reid coaches.

Reid successfully challenged the spot of a first down during his Kansas City Chiefs’ 31-7 win over the New York Giants on Sunday. The challenge reversed a first down and gave the Giants a 4th and 1. The Giants elected to punt, and they gave up an 89-yard return for a touchdown to Dexter McCluster. Obviously Reid’s challenge was a game-changer.

But the funny part about the challenge is that when McAulay explained that the first down ruling was being overturned, he said “Philadelphia will not be charged with a timeout.”

Reid is in his first season with KC after 14 in Philly, so it’s understandable why McAulay had the slip-up. It’s not like he’s the first ref to make such a mistake.

Thanks to LBS tipster David for the heads up

Wisconsin-Arizona State ending a total mess (Video)

Wisconsin lost to Arizona State on Saturday night 32-30 after a controversial ending went against them.

The Badgers converted a 3rd and 3 on a 6-yard pass and their receiver stepped out of bounds with 18 seconds left. Wisconsin had the ball at the ASU 13 with no timeouts left. Quarterback Joel Stave was instructed to center the ball from the right hash to the middle of the field to set the Badgers up for a potential winning field goal. However, Stave was unable to properly execute the play. He looked like he was going to kneel down, but he bumped into one of his lineman and then placed the football on the ground. Perhaps Wisconsin intended to spike the ball to stop the clock and set up for the field goal, but time ran out before they could snap the ball for the next play.

There were a few questionable decisions by the referees on the play. For one, Stave may have kneeled down and they may have missed that.

[Read more...]

Referees call controversial jump ball at end of Louisville-Wichita State game

Louisville Wichita State tie upFinal Four referees took away what could have been an even more exciting finish to the Louisville-Wichita State game by calling a controversial jump ball (technically a held ball) with 6.3 seconds left.

Luke Hancock was fouled in the open court with Louisville up 70-68 with 8.8 seconds left. He made the first of two free throws and missed his second off the iron. The Shockers’ Ron Baker fought for the rebound, but Hancock got his hands on the ball for a brief moment. The referees called a held ball and, because of the college rules, possession was determined by the arrow. Since Wichita State got possession on the double-foul a few minutes earlier, this time it went to the Cardinals.

Louisville inbounded the ball up 71-68 with 6.3 seconds left. Russ Smith was fouled, made one of his free throws, and Louisville won the game 72-68.

Was it the right call? Here’s the NCAA’s definition of a held ball (via the NCAA rule book PDF link)

Section 37. Held Ball

Art. 1. A held ball occurs when an opponent places his or her hand(s):
a. So firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue
roughness; or
b. On the ball to prevent an airborne player from throwing the ball or
attempting a try and both players return to the playing court with
both hands on the ball or (men) the airborne player returns to the
playing court never losing control of the ball.

The referees made the call way too early in my opinion. It should not have been called and the Shockers should have been given a chance to tie the game.

Full video of the play is below:

[Read more...]

Ed Rush reportedly bribed Pac-12 referees to target Sean Miller

Sean MillerEd Rush, the Pac-12′s coordinator of officials, offered incentives to the conference’s referees if they targeted Arizona head coach Sean Miller during the Pac-12 conference tournament, CBS Sports reports.

According to CBS Sports’ Jeff Goodman, Rush, a former NBA referee, met with Pac-12 officials on Thursday — the day of the conference tournament in Las Vegas — and told the officials in attendance that he would give them $5,000 or a trip to Cancun if they ejected Miller from a game or called a technical foul on the coach.

Goodman reports that Rush repeated his offer on Friday, the day of Arizona’s tournament semifinal game against UCLA. Referee Michael Irving called a controversial technical foul on Miller with 4:37 left in the Bruins-Wildcats game for arguing a double dribble call. Arizona lost the game 66-64 and ended up a No. 6 seed in the NCAA tournament.

Miller went on a memorable rant after the game to complain about the technical foul call.

[Read more...]

Richmond called for three technical fouls in final 5.9 seconds, loses game (Video)

Breaking sports news video. MLB, NFL, NBA, NHL highlights and more.

Chris MooneyBlaming a loss on the referees can sometimes be petty, but the Richmond Spiders may actually have a legitimate gripe.

Richmond was up 63-60 on Charlotte in the first round of the Atlantic 10 conference tournament Thursday at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, and they were called for three technical fouls in the final 5.9 seconds of the game, which gave Charlotte 11 free throw attempts and a 68-63 victory.

With his team up by three, only 5.9 seconds remaining, and the 49ers in the single bonus, Richmond coach Chris Mooney instructed his team to foul Charlotte’s Pierria Henry after an inbounds pass. Henry made the first free throw of a one-and-one to give himself a chance for a second attempt. But after his first attempt, Richmond’s Derrick Williams was called for a technical foul for pushing Charlotte’s Willie Clayton. The technical foul called on Richmond gave Henry two more free throws for a total of four, and it gave Charlotte the ball after the free throws. He made all four free throws to put his team up 64-63 with 4.7 seconds left.

Things continued to get crazy for Richmond. Charlotte passed the ball to Henry on the inbound and Richmond decided to foul once again. The referees determined that Henry was in the act of shooting when he was fouled, so they gave him three more free throws. The officials’ decision caused Mooney to lose his mind. He was called for two technical fouls and ejected from the game. That gave Henry seven free throws — three for the foul while he was attempting a 3-pointer, and two for each technical foul on Mooney. Henry made four of seven attempts, putting Charlotte up 68-63, which was the final score.

Henry made 8-of-11 free throws in the finals 2.1 seconds of the game to finish with a season-high 28 points.

“I am shocked. I don’t think we played great, but we did do some things real well. It’s a pretty devastating way to lose the game,” Mooney said afterward. ”I was upset. Probably too upset. I can’t take it back right now. I certainly wish I could.”

H/T College Basketball Talk