Quantcast
Ad Unit
Monday, October 20, 2014

Francesca Schiavone Falls Apart After Chair Umpire Overturns Call

Some players have a call that doesn’t go their way and still win their match. Other players lose a call on a decision that gets overturned and fall apart. Such was the case for Francesca Schiavone at the French Open finals Saturday. Schiavone was up 6-5 in the second set and looking to force a third set. It was deuce when a cross court shot by Li Na was called wide, giving Schiavone the advantage. However, the chair umpire came over to look at the ball’s mark on the court and realized it was an incorrect call. She overruled the call, giving Na the advantage. Here’s a video of the play courtesy of Busted Racquet:

Na went on to win the game, forcing a tiebreak. She won the tiebreak 7-0 meaning she won all eight points after the call was overturned. Schiavone may have lost the point, but there was no reason to fall apart after that the way she did. That just shows mental weakness and further proves Na was the deserving winner. Here’s a closer look at the spot of the ball since the video didn’t give us one.

Thanks to Busted Racquet for the image.



Around The Web

Comments

comments powered by Disqus