Quantcast

Minor Leaguer Luis Mendoza Has No-Hitter Taken Away Two Days Later

Imagine you were a pitcher. Now, imagine you had a no-hitter going into the ninth and a ball was ripped to left field, bouncing off the left fielder’s glove. Now, imagine said play was ruled an error even though it looked like a hit, keeping your no-hitter intact. Next, imagine the official scorer overturning his initial ruling and scoring the play a hit, leaving you an inning short of the no-no. And finally, imagine the official taking two full days to decide to overturn the play.

Was that a roller coaster of emotion or what? For Kansas City Royals minor leaguer Luis Mendoza, that roller coaster was a reality.  Mendoza took a no-hitter into the ninth inning on Monday when his teammate, David Lough, was ruled to have made a welcomed error on a ball hit to left.  You can see a video of the play here.

To me, that is clearly a double.  Had Lough caught the ball it would have been a tremendous play.  That doesn’t excuse John Guinozzo, the Memphis scorekeeper, from making the wrong call and taking two days to correct it.  In addition, I know no team wants to be no-hit but did Memphis really need to request a review after the fact?  It’s over, the other guy caught a break, let it go.  At least when an umpire blew Armando Galarraga’s no-hitter he did it instantly.


Around The Web

  • http://flavors.me/paulrharvey3 paulrharvey3

    I always thought the official scorer could only change his mind until he turned in his paperwork the next morning, then only the league could review things.

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_OFRCM7HX23CWQC5YIZLIP6R7GI Merlin

    The scoring is final once it is turned into the league and has been certified. Until then the local scorekeeper owns it. Done on the night it would have been fine to change the scoring. For the local scorekeeper to do it two days later is simply a cheap, shoddy action.