Quantcast

Melsahn Basabe will be pulling a Bugs Bunny for Iowa per Big Ten graphic

Melsahn Basabe Iowa

The Big Ten Network had a bit of a mistake in their graphics package for the Iowa-Penn basketball game on Friday. Though they had five different faces for the Hawkeyes’ starting lineup, they listed every player as forward Melsahn Basabe (the real Basabe is on the far left).

We know Basabe is a pretty solid player for Iowa, but only Bugs Bunny is capable of playing every position for his team in the same game. We all know that.

Image via @mhays83, h/t Mark Ennis

James Taylor had a National Anthem flub at World Series (Video)

James-Taylor-National-AnthemFive-time Grammy Award winning music artist James Taylor was on hand at Fenway Park on Thursday night to perform the National Anthem before Game 2 of the World Series. It did not start well.

In yet another reminder that even famous artists can become flustered when standing in front of nearly 40,000 rowdy sports fans, Taylor began singing “America the Beautiful” before quickly correcting himself and switching gears to “The Star-Spangled Banner.” Oops.

It’s not as bad as it seems. As Fox News noted, the folk singer was scheduled to play “America the Beautiful” during the 7th inning stretch alongside some victims of the Boston Marathon bombings. He had obviously rehearsed both performances and had a brief brain fart, which he did a nice job of recovering from. We have seen much, much worse over the years.

Vontae Davis: ‘We prepared hard for Tom Brady’ (Video)

Vontae DavisThe Indianapolis Colts were able to do something no other team in the NFL could do: stop Peyton Manning and the Denver Broncos.

Maybe the reason they were able to find success against Manning was they had a different game plan from everyone else. I mean you heard it from Vontae Davis, who said after the game that preparing for Tom Brady was the secret. Oops!

Davis did have five tackles and two passes defended during the game, so maybe we’ll cut him some slack for the blunder.

Referee Terry McAulay still thinks Andy Reid coaches Philadelphia?

Andy ReidReferee Terry McAulay might be a little confused about which team Andy Reid coaches.

Reid successfully challenged the spot of a first down during his Kansas City Chiefs’ 31-7 win over the New York Giants on Sunday. The challenge reversed a first down and gave the Giants a 4th and 1. The Giants elected to punt, and they gave up an 89-yard return for a touchdown to Dexter McCluster. Obviously Reid’s challenge was a game-changer.

But the funny part about the challenge is that when McAulay explained that the first down ruling was being overturned, he said “Philadelphia will not be charged with a timeout.”

Reid is in his first season with KC after 14 in Philly, so it’s understandable why McAulay had the slip-up. It’s not like he’s the first ref to make such a mistake.

Thanks to LBS tipster David for the heads up

Royals closed captioning includes ‘homosexual’ and ‘pimp hitter’

Royals closed caption pimp hitter

FOX Sports Kansas City had a little bit of a problem with their closed captioning on Sunday during the Royals-Texas Rangers game.

Rangers DH Jeff Baker pinch hit for David Murphy during the top of the 10th inning and struck out. The outcome had to be a disappointment for the closed captioning person, who labeled Baker a “pimp hitter.”

The closed captioning also screwed up twice by calling someone “homosexual”:

[Read more...]

John Sterling botches Alex Rodriguez home run call (Audio)

John-SterlingNew York Yankees broadcaster John Sterling scripts his home run calls. Anyone who has listened to games that are broadcast on WFAN could tell you that. For that reason, his screw-ups have a tendency to become magnified. Sterling gave us a perfect example of that on Tuesday night when he mistakenly thought that Alex Rodriguez had blasted a home run.

The problem was Toronto Blue Jays outfielder Rajai Davis turned the fly ball into a routine out near the wall.

“That ball is high, it is far, it is gone …,” Sterling proclaimed enthusiastically, via The Big Lead. “It hit and kicked over. (pause) I’m sorry, I’m sorry I got that all wrong. I got that all wrong. At the wall Davis made the catch, honestly I didn’t think he made it. I thought he gave up on the ball that’s why I thought it was out.”

Ouch. It was so bad that Sterling didn’t even know how to recover and basically just stopped talking in the middle of his explanation. Considering he has made some epic botched home run calls in the past, you would think Sterling would be used to it. Apparently not.

Yankees catcher Chris Stewart strikes out after two strikes (Video)

Chris-Stewart-strike-twoNew York Yankees catcher Chris Stewart accomplished an amazing feat during a 6-5 win over the Baltimore Orioles on Thursday night. No, not that kind of amazing. This was the kind of amazing that Stewart will want to forget. As in, striking out on a 1-1 pitch amazing.

In the top of the second inning, Stewart swung and missed at a 1-1 pitch and walked back to the dugout. He never returned. He later told MLB.com’s Bryan Hoch that he thought home plate umpire Jim Wolf had called the first pitch a strike, which is where the confusion arose.

“[Wolf] said something the first pitch, and I thought he called it a strike,” Stewart explained. “I assumed it was 0-1, I fouled a ball off and I swung and missed at a ball. No one said anything; the umpire didn’t say anything, so I just came on back to the dugout and put my stuff away.”

The incredible part was no one said anything — not the umpire, not Orioles catcher Matt Wieters, not O’s pitcher Wei-Yin Chen nor any of Stewart’s teammates. As Eye on Baseball pointed out, nothing in the MLB rulebook states that the umpire is required to call a hitter back in a situation like that, so I guess Stewart essentially forfeited the remainder of his at-bat. He later said it would have been “a nice little courtesy” if someone let him know.

“The good thing is, we ended up winning and it doesn’t mean anything,” Stewart added. “But I would’ve hit a home run if I’d stayed there.”

While we’d love to make Stewart feel better by saying “it happens,” it really doesn’t. Hitters have lost track of counts on plenty of occasions, but someone usually tips them off. Stewart wasn’t fortunate enough for that to happen.